still having 3g probs? or something else?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Matth3w, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Seems like web pages are hanging...
  2. Naruto
    Offline

    Naruto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Can you describe this problem further? Hanging?
    I never thought it was possible, but I even get full 3G service in the subway.
  3. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I've got full service yet it won't load a full page. It stops at like 10% for example. It took me like 15 minutes to post something to my blog.
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Verizon swears this is not a network issue, either new or from yesterday...
  5. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    same here in delaware.....very slow....using speedtest last week i would be getting between 1100 and 1400 KB download speeds with 3G now i am only getting around 400 to 500 and is choppy.

    (and i was never out when everyone else was)
  6. krazyskott
    Offline

    krazyskott New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I have the same problem here in Virginia.
  7. toddegreene
    Offline

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This seems to be a continuation of vzw's data problems from yesterday.
  8. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Matthew hit up hookbill. IIRC he was having the same problem on his rooted device.

    He can offer more insight I_think_
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I reset my phone today. That fixed the problem.
  10. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    what kind of "reset"? power cycle?
  11. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    OK...this is what solved my problem.

    turned off the phone....pulled the battery....and rebooted. 3G is flying now back in the 1600's and low 1700's KBs d-load speeds
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Just rebooted, turned off/on. That's all it needed.
  13. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I tried that :(
  14. UNVERIFI3D
    Offline

    UNVERIFI3D New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done the same thing. Pulling the battery and resetting. I'm having extreemly choppy service in places where I have 3 and 4 bars of 3g and use to have no problems with connections... man verizon is reallly letting me down!
  15. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I get this problem frequently and also I get the issue with the 3G icon disappearing until I go into airplane mode or wait like 15 minutes. I think theres just too much traffic on Verizon in my area.
  16. HwnDroid
    Offline

    HwnDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Same here in Honolulu, Hawaii. My 3G is choppy at best and I get the 1G more often than I'd like. What's up VZW?
  17. volando
    Offline

    volando New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How about the phone getting stuck in 1g mode, anyone see that? I get this cruising down the high way sometimes, it takes a LONG time for it to recover back to 3g. I toggle airplane mode to fix it immediately though, is this just a matter of the re-scan timeout? can it be fixed with an app? My area has 100% 3g coverage, no idea what it's getting dropped sometimes...
  18. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Perhaps because I am in Pittsburgh the traffic is too high....
  19. trumpet444
    Offline

    trumpet444 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mine constantly bounces from full 3g coverage to 2 bars on 1x while sitting in one place. really pisses me off. customer service at verizon is of no help. i'm in the middle of richmond, va so i know i'm not in a dead zone
  20. Ziffy
    Offline

    Ziffy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone does a similar thing...Moto Droid...Full Bars to No Bars...3g to 1x...constantly, even though I am smack dab in the middle of the "red!"

    Major issue for me is I am on a call and it does this, so my phone makes the notification sound, locks up...and I see the bottom half of the phone screen and nothing else. I have to back out to the home screen and go back into the phone to make another call.

    Sometimes I will call someone and it will look like it is dialing even though it already has, but I can't hear the other person...but they hear me. This makes it seem like I am prank calling them. Not so fun when you are trying to call for take-out!

    Upset,

    Z
Search tags for this page

why does 3g come and go

,
why does my verizon 3g come amd go