sticky situation....

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dannyboydluxe, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. dannyboydluxe

    dannyboydluxe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had my Droid for about 10 days... since day one I've had a feeling there was something defective with the haptic feedback. The phone rattles, to a point where you could hear it when you hit a key, and it's even worse for the unlock swipe. I honestly thought this was normal, but confirmed it's a problem today when handling another person's phone.
    I've rooted the phone, but want to now take it to Verizon for an exchange... what's the best way to clear my tracks so they don't blame it on the Sholes mod?
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the forum :)

    In the Sholes app, just select the ROM called "stock 2.0.1 (no root)"
     
  3. dannyboydluxe

    dannyboydluxe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    when I do that the SM Updater APP automatically re-installs itself... I don't want VZW to see that app when they check out my phone.
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    When Sholes puts you back to stock, it does everything. The only thing you need to do is remove any applications that are made for using while rooted, such as SetCPU. I've done it once already, it works like a charm.:)
     
  5. dannyboydluxe

    dannyboydluxe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a bunch, I'll give it a shot and try and get myself a new droid... one that doesn't have a haptic rattle that sounds like 2 lips flapping.
     
  6. dannyboydluxe

    dannyboydluxe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    after I was done un-rooting back to 2.0.1, the Sholes app was still there so I refunded it thru the market (i'll buy it again when i get a replacment phone), but the market still say's it's INSTALLED, also shows "SET CPU" as a downloaded app, anyway to clear these out so VZW doesn't get smart.
     
  7. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you actually uninstall SetCPU?

    And did you try rebooting? Sometimes a reboot jogs the memory and it updates.

    Also the market is sometimes slow to update, I've noticed. So I would try a reboot and see where you stand.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Market will keep an app that you paid for (even if uninstalled) in your downloads. I've had ATK sitting at the bottom of my downloads since I first got the Droid (since I uninstalled after my 24hr window).

    Worst case, they ask what the app is, say you downloaded it not knowing it required you to void your warranty, so you didn't use it.