Steel Droid on Droid 3

AMDfan

Reaction score
I'm new to ROMing, and have been trying some OS's on my Droid 3 and ran across Steel Droid (Android ICS 4.0.4) and at first, I tried 5.6, which is the newest version and I expected some issues, but the camera wouldn't work one day and the dialer(s) wouldn't the next. Very unpredictable. I cleared it, tried 5.5 and so far the only things that DON'T work are the Activation calling (*228 on Verizon) where I get black screen and am forced to use my keyboard to navigate the menus and Google Maps.

The problem I'm having issues right now is that Google Maps only shows a black background where the maps should be, with "Google" and north/south compass. Voice navigation plays fine, all the controls work, just no maps. I went back and made sure I downloaded the ICS GApps, and I got the one for 4.0.3-4.0.4, so they are correct. I even uninstalled and re-installed them from the Play Store, and no change. Anyone know of a fix for this? I can always boot back over on Gingerbread for Navigation, but I'd love to use it on ICS if I can, since this OS is far better performing and less likely to lock down.

I'm asking like this, because my Weatherbug app uses Google Maps for its Radar and it works perfectly, leading me to believe that it's an issue with the Maps app itself.

Last edited:

trs1

Reaction score
I'm having the same problem with Maps. Anyone have any ideas what's up?

uzairsyedahmed

Reaction score
Hey man.

I am planning to root my droid 3 to get rid of bloatware and increased performance. My current system is 5.7.906.XT862.Verizon.en.US . How is the ICS 5.5? Is it still in beta or has a few bugs?

Also, could you please give me some step by step information on what you did and how. I have read a few "instructions" on the internet but they all seem to be not consistent and I dont understand what part is "doing what". Thanks alot. I appreciate it!

OP
A

AMDfan

Reaction score