1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Steel Droid 8 bugs

Discussion in 'Steel Droid' started by chris79, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. chris79
    Offline

    chris79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just downloaded and installed this and it hangs on M for over 15 minutes. I used raidzero and wiped all three times. Tried twice. Restored PE6. 5 and redownloaded. Tried it all over again with same results. Any suggestions?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Did you wipe dalvik cache separately? Then reboot to recovery.
    Then install.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. chevycam94
    Offline

    chevycam94 Steel Droid ROM Developer Developer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Was the zip file corrupt in any way? Other than that, just make sure you wipe! (lol, that was dirty)
  4. chris79
    Offline

    chris79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's checked by default when you select the wipe all option. I did download from this application and also on my computer. Same result.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. sublime151
    Offline

    sublime151 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wipe all 3x for good measure, reboot into recovery
    Wipe each individually, reboot into recovery
    Install rom, reboot into recovery
    Reboot into android
    If above dosnt work install alternative kernal "probably a slower one" of course after doing steps 1-4 again
    I do this everytime no matter what

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  6. EFGantry
    Offline

    EFGantry New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when using RZR, i use the "wipe all" option as well, but just for good measure i also wipe all of them manually. it just seems to work better, especially with these GB roms.
  7. pdc419
    Offline

    pdc419 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have heard from a trusted dev that rzr recovery doesn't wipe well. Since going back to clockwork I haven't had any problems.

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
  8. pdc419
    Offline

    pdc419 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    By the way I wasn't trying to put down rz in anyway. I think he's a very talented dev an does good work. I was just putting what I've heard and my experience with the two recoveries.

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
  9. Mohawk3
    Offline

    Mohawk3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Whenever I flash a ROM with RZR, I have to reboot into recovery, flash again (without wiping this time) and then I can reboot into android. If I don't do that it will hang at the M.

    I really like RZR, but I use it mainly to charge while in recovery and since my microUSB port keeps failing and I can't charge it, I think I may switch back to Clockwork.
  10. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Anyone having problems with incoming calls? I can hear but caller can't here me.
    Also missing calls.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  11. RonsHome
    Offline

    RonsHome New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I have found with Rzr recovery that when it hangs like that the install didn't go through.
    What I mean is if you run a rom.zip take notice how long the installation takes. If it zips through it more than likely it didn't take.
    This happens to me exactly at anytime with any rom.
    All you do is just boot into recovery again, wipe all once and reinstall.
    Just keep your eye on how long it takes to install.
  12. RonsHome
    Offline

    RonsHome New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    So far no.

    How about fc in the fonts in steelbox app?
  13. lepa71
    Offline

    lepa71 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had that call problem in 7.2. It looks like caller voice was coming out of speaker phone.

  14. igl00jx
    Offline

    igl00jx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone having issues changing wallpapers? Pressing the menu soft button then choosing wallpaper brings up a notification that I don't have the app installed.
  15. dliontis28
    Offline

    dliontis28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, FL
    wifi

    :motdroidhoriz:Okay, so I've noticed when I'm on wifi, it seems to be going great and then it drops and I have no coverage. Then after about 10 seconds, it kicks back in, then another minute or 2, happens again and so on. At first I thought it was my wifi but my ps3 and computer don't disconnect. Next question, sometimes when i run a game on the phone, the game starts to load and then just closes and I get kicked back to the home screen. Is this due to the memory with the rom and other apps? Is anyone else having this issue.
  16. forgiventhief
    Offline

    forgiventhief New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the issue with me being able to hear the caller. I answered and my phone answered in speaker phone, with no way to shut it off. I could hear the caller. The caller could not hear me.
  17. jakealex2
    Offline

    jakealex2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gb no voice

    This is a widespread problem with GB roms. You just have to reboot your phone once and it will be fine.
  18. jakealex2
    Offline

    jakealex2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    home screen redraws

    I'm having a ton of home screen redraws. Every time I leave an app and go to home the screen redraws.
Search tags for this page

steel droid caller issue