Steel 3.0 broke headphone?

Discussion in 'Steel Droid - D3' started by blackbelt27, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. blackbelt27
    Offline

    blackbelt27 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem: headphones dont work, upon insertion nothing happens

    ive done about 4350347 different flashing, even after soft-bricking my phone and installing using safestrap, theres got to be fix somwhere im missing
     
  2. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im having the same issue

    Sent from my SD3
     
  3. lastname_firstname
    Offline

    lastname_firstname Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    After flashing monsterrom and a few others I stuck with steeldroid b/c I liked its feel the best....about a week l8r my headphone jack didn't go out, but the phone got stuck thinking that headphones were always in, I.e. not being able to hear calls unless on speaker and shortly after that (>1day) nothing but static could be heard. I used my vzw insurance and mnfctrs warranty to get a new phone, but sbf'ing was a nightmare to get superuser off and I'm still a bit sketched it could have been steeldroid.
    I contacted chevy and we agreed it was hardware issues but if others are having this problem especially while their flashed w/ steeldroid we may need to reexamine the coding...I dunno tho I'm no dev.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. WhatiPhone
    Offline

    WhatiPhone Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just checked mine to see if mine worked and they do. I started music without headphones and then plugged the headphones in and still worked. Don't think it's SD3.
     
  5. lastname_firstname
    Offline

    lastname_firstname Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    I admit it seems more plausible that its hardware issues moreso than sd3.0, but if its happening to users after they flash sd3.0 more and more I say investigate it.
    I've seen headphone problems for multiple different reasons on multiple forums with the droid 3 tho so maybe its a design flaw. Flashing sd3.0 tonight again with new phone and ill be running it until cm7 or it breaks....so we will see.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. blackbelt27
    Offline

    blackbelt27 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive considered doing diagnostics with a volt meeter and a battery, but I don't want to take apart my 4 month old droid 3

    Im leaning more toward a bug with the new google music or something software related, just doesn't feel like a hardware error, I haven't even dropped it or anything, and its very rare headphone ports break
     
  7. trebor_edwards
    Offline

    trebor_edwards New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My rooted stock 2 month old d3 seems to have some headphone issues, it sometimes has no output unless I move it around a bit, maybe it is the hardware?
     
  8. blackbelt27
    Offline

    blackbelt27 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloaded "toggleheadset2" from the market, hitting the toggle widget with headphone plugged in makes a noticeable "pop" in the headphones,

    So yep software error
     
  9. blackbelt27
    Offline

    blackbelt27 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow, market problems, now gmail fc's? man **** this
     
  10. blackbelt27
    Offline

    blackbelt27 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    rubix rom fixes all this, no problems so far
     
  11. nu2droid
    Offline

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been running sd3 on two different D3's. Headphones worked perfectly on both.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. Solo1414
    Offline

    Solo1414 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine weren't working either. The jack was dirty. I cleaned it and my headphones are working again.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  13. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I can't use the phone except on speaker wtf

    Sent from my SD3
     
  14. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installed stock backup with root and all problems solved

    Sent from my SD3
     
  15. mikedomo
    Offline

    mikedomo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My headphones workly perfect in my Droid 3 with steel droid 3.