[ROM] [STABLE] Bugless Beast V0.6.2.1 (Gingerbread/Froyo)

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by peteralfonso, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. geezman

    geezman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Navigation is working fine. What exactly is happening? Have you tried clearing Map data?
     
  2. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    When she opens maps everything is fine. But then she hits the magnifying glass (search) and types 3 or 4 characters and it force closes....every time.

    So...you say clear map data? What else?
     
  3. $mitty

    $mitty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't flashed a new ROM in months. What's the best/easiest way to do this one? Finally getting off my lazy ass and updating my droid!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. michael_campbell

    michael_campbell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Ratings:
    +0
    The easiest way is to just "download rom" from ROM manager, and wipe the cache(s) when it asks you to. "best".... that is a loaded question. I've generally had no problems with the ROM manager method, but some people like to wipe their caches via recovery more than once so they'll do that, then use recovery to flash the ROM image that had been previously downloaded. I do that sometimes too.
     
  5. $mitty

    $mitty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the way I used to always do it...with SPRecovery, data wipes, update.zip installs, etc... Never used ROM Manager but I'll give it a try. Working my way back in to it all again. Used to flash ROMs and theme all the time but for the past 6 to 8 months I haven't been. Just wanted to make sure I hadn't missed out on something new since I haven't been around much lately.
     
  6. gsDroid

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    Make sure to do nandroid backup first. When in recovery, do a factory reset and wipe cache. In the partitions menu, format system and format boot. In the advanced menu, wipe the dalvik cache. Then install your rom.
     
  7. $mitty

    $mitty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are those instructions for Clockwork or SPRecovery...casue they don't sound like SPR?
     
  8. michael_campbell

    michael_campbell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockwork. There may be equivalent options for SPR.
     
  9. $mitty

    $mitty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I flashed clockwork with rom manager, so I'll use that.
     
  10. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sp doesn't allow you to format the boot and system partitions. This in a huge downside to sprecovery. Unfortunately, sprecovery is badly outdated.

    You can use clockwork recovery from rom manager as per the directions above or try Rzrecovery.

    Rzrecovery is based on sprecovery with a lot of updating.
    -you don't need to rename to update.zip
    -it's overclocked to 1.1Ghz so it's really fast!
    -it gives you the ability to charge from in recovery (handy if you bootloop from flashing with too little battery)
    -it allows you to restore sprecovery and cwrecovery backups!
    -it saves it's backups in sprecovery format so they can also be restored with sprecovery.
    -when it comes to wiping, you can wipe partitions individually OR SELECT WIPE ALL (SO MUCH EASIER!!!)
    -You can either install via sbf, OR AN UPDATE.ZIP FROM EITHER CW RECOVERY OR SP RECOVERY
    -AND MORE!

    There's no downside to using this recovery! If you ever want to go back to cw or sp, you can just flash them from rom manager... so give it a try! You'll never look back! I haven't!!!

    Just search df for rzrecovery...

    Sent from my Droid running whatever ROM and Kernel I chose to use today...
     
  11. $mitty

    $mitty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flashed BB with clockwork this morning. Very happy with it so far. Thanks for the tips!

    Only issue I'm noticing is it is occasionally slow to load/show the apps when I open the app drawer...it was just showing a black screen sometimes. This was while using the stock launcher. I'm back on ADW and the problem doesn't seem to be happening anymore.

    BTW, what's the best way to backup apps so I don't have to redownload them when I flash a new ROM? I thought I'd done it with Titanium, but when I opened it up I guess I hadn't. Spent all day getting my apps back and getting everything back up and running how I like it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  12. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    TitaniumBackup! Don't use my backup... i tried it and still had to go back and fix it with titanium. Don't ever restore system data though. Just user apps and data...

    Sent from my Droid running whatever ROM and Kernel I chose to use today...
     
Search tags for this page

bugless beast

,
bugless beast 0.6.2.1
,

bugless beast 6.2.1

,
bugless beast droid 1
,
bugless beast froyo
,
bugless beast froyo download
,
bugless beast rom
,

bugless beast v0.6.2.1

,
bugless beast v0.6.2.1 download
,
buglessbeast custom rom