Stability and Market Issues under SS 4.8

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by nukem, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. nukem

    nukem New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just updated to SS 4.8 after doing a wipe of my phone. The first thing I noticed is that once I get to the first screen(touch here to continue) and I touch the screen it goes back to the boot splash for a short time. What is really bad is that when I try to restore my apps through the Android Market it restores a few of them (HuffingtonPost, OpenTables, Pandora, Shazam) but after those every application causes the market to force quit. I tried manually installing ConnectBot and updating Google Search but both cause a force quit of the market. I've tried clearing markets data and cache as well as resetting the phone but no luck.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks,

    nuke
     
  2. nukem

    nukem New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW, I'm using the default kernel that came with SS 4.8. Previous default kernels never gave me any trouble.
     
  3. PoiTEE

    PoiTEE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I redownloaded the THEMED version from ssandroid.com installed and no issues at all.. I had the same issues you just described....
     
  4. mojo_droid

    mojo_droid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try running fix permissions from chevytools
     
  5. Mohawk3

    Mohawk3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0

    I can't find fix permissions in chevytools? Where is it? I used the one from ROM manager.

    I even tried using fixperm in terminal, but he doesn't have that script set up to have fixperm be the command. I'm not sure if there is another script command in terminal to get that to happen.
     
  6. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    its under backup and restore.
     
  7. trmiv

    trmiv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had similar issues with the unthemed version. The themed version works fine though, but I'm not a fan of the theme.
     
  8. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    while there are other themes I would like (and will wait for patiently), to me...the themed version looks better than the non themed version anyway.
     
  9. mojo_droid

    mojo_droid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    if the themed version works for you just grab the vending.apk from the themed zip file and either push it to your droid or create and update.zip with only the vending.apk to flash that version on your phone. this way you can keep your unthemed framework, etc. but get the system app you want
     
  10. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have no fix permissions either. not having problems but, still couldnt find it
     
  11. mojo_droid

    mojo_droid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you go to chevytools->scripts->backup&restore you should see it in the popup menu
     
  12. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10

    yes! what he said. Sorry if I didnt specify enough detail previously.