SSH help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by MrNemo, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping someone could walk me through connecting to my home computer using connectbot. I've been trying for a while and I haven't had any luck. I've set up openssh on my computer and created private and public keys. I've been following tutorials but have had no luck.
     
  2. mat4ov

    mat4ov Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never been successful using private and public keys through connectbot, however I was able to connect using password authentication. Have you tried that?
     
  3. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't tried it yet and wouldn't know how to. I'm new to ssh so i would have to be walked through everything or at least led to a good article.
     
  4. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disregard. I was using the wrong ip address. So now i have it working fine and I've got to say it's pretty cool. Is there anyway to actually open up programs on my host machine from my droid? Or can I just use the shell?
     
  5. mat4ov

    mat4ov Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I do is use connectbot to start the ssh connection and set up the port forwarding to create a SOCKS connection. From there I tell the host machine to start a VNC server over the SOCKS port. On the phone I use the androidvnc viewer (free download in the market) to access the VNC server and thus I can see do anything on my host machine directly from my droid and it's all still encrypted through the SSH tunnel. The hardware keyboard is very helpful for this, however if you're going to be doing it a lot I recommend a bluetooth keyboard for the phone, that way the keys are larger and it's easier to give commands to the host machine (just make sure you get one that works with the bluetooth profile on your phone).

    If you're going to use the VNC connection wifi does work best as there's a lot of data being sent through and 3g can take a minute to load the graphics.
     
  6. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i'm able to ssh into my ubuntu machine without a problem, but I can't seem to figure out how to a. transfer files with scp, b. connect to my droid through ssh from my ubuntu machine, and c. set up a vpn network. Usually as soon as I post something I figure it out, but just in case any help would be appreciated.
     
  7. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
    a and b require an ssh server running on your droid. connectbot is just a client.

    c. separate issue from connectbot, what protocol vpn are you trying to setup?

    For a workaround for a you can use andftp app
     
  8. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your answer holmes6. I install dropbear and dropbearkeygen without a problem. The server seems to be running, the only problem is i don't know my uid to ssh into my droid. Anyway i can find that out?
     
  9. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you know the local IP address you can try to ssh to it at port 22
    I'm guessing that fails..
    if this were full linux I'd say run
    netstat -nlp
    and check for your ssh app and make sure it's bound on port 22, I don't know if that will return anything here though.. maybe busybox netstat -nlp
    sorry for likely dead end commands
     
  10. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My local address is just a string of zeros (0.0.0.0:port) when i run netstat. The port is not 22.
     
  11. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
    0.0.0.0 means it's listening on all interfaces, so that's good
     
  12. MrNemo

    MrNemo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good everything seems to be set up properly, i just can't figure out the proper ssh command to use or what i need to change to be able to connect via 3g.
     
Search tags for this page

connectbot file transfer

,
connectbot scp
,
connectbot transfer files
,
file transfer connectbot
,
how to ssh into xoom
,
scp with connectbot
,
transfer files with connectbot
,
vx connectbot scp
,
vx connectbot scp howto
,
vxconnect scp