SS GB 5.2 not picking up Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by iWordplay, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. iWordplay
    Offline

    iWordplay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just stopped picking up my Wi-Fi. My brother's ally is fine though. What do I do?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. undroid
    Offline

    undroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try a different kernel.... for some reason even though everyone is probably using the same kernel/driver/proprietaries some just don't act the same. i use rmod right now and it picks up my problematic wifi. it is also the only kernel i know of for the droid that has the smartmod gov which is pretty slick. i don't have the link right now but just do a search here in droidforums.net and you'll find it.
  3. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    so it was working at one point, then stopped? what about after reboot? same thing?
  4. iWordplay
    Offline

    iWordplay New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It said it was out of range, when I'm next to router. So I then deleted (forget) network, let it scan for Wi-Fi and mines wouldn't show up. Rebooted, and still nothing.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. Mohawk3
    Offline

    Mohawk3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Have you tried to reboot the router. That always does it for me at home when my phone won't connect. It does suck to have to go do that though. Home is really the only place I get the problem though.
  6. 4lph4num3r1c
    Offline

    4lph4num3r1c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having the same issue since this morning and have been trying to fix it all day. I've tried different kernels and multiple routers but me droid only displays the last network I were on. I restored a recent backup and it were back to working. So, I flashed back to the non working restore and changed the kernel. That worked at first but wouldn't scan after that. The problem persists for me but I'm too tired to try anything else for today. Any luck finding a fix?
  7. hughesjr
    Offline

    hughesjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is an application in the market called WiFi Analyzer that will show you all WiFi networks and their channel/signal strength, etc.

    I would grab that and see if you see any networks.
  8. 4lph4num3r1c
    Offline

    4lph4num3r1c New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that. The first time I turned it on and hit the settings button and turned on wifi, it actually found the networks. Now, I can't gets it to find networks with WIFI ANALYZER or without it. Back to square one. The problem is, the droid doesn't see any networks. They are there but the Droid doesn't "see" them. Not a router issue.

    EDIT GOTS IT WORKING
    I went into wifi settings and there were two networks that were "remembered". I long clicked on them and "forgot" them and me wifi instantly found all other networks. I'm having no problems now. Hope this helps.
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011
  9. reaper9825
    Offline

    reaper9825 New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the LG Ally. I'm having the same problem. It was fine one moment and the next it just stop picking up WI-FI signals. It doesn't matter where you are. You can be next to the router, but when you search for the signal nothing comes up :mad: Does anyone know how to fix that??
  10. JonYaya
    Offline

    JonYaya New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a documented and still unresolved issue in Gingerbread. The only "resolution" is to keep deleting/forgetting WiFi links until it magically starts seeing the networks again as described below.

Search tags for this page
android ally wont pick up wifi
,
droid will not pick up wireless signal
,

droid x not picking up wifi

,
droid x will not pick up wifi
,
droid x wont pick up wifi signal
,

htc incredible 2 not picking up wifi

,
motorola m stopped picking up wifi
,
my droid does iphone will not pick up wifi
,
my droid will not pick p wifi even next to router
,
my droid wont pick up wireless signal
,

my htc wont pick up wifi

,
samsung intercept wont pick up wifi