[ROM] SS 5.6 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +14
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Did your LED work at all with this ROM and then quit? Or does it just not work with this ROM? I found you had to set the LED settings in Chevy Tools and find to setting to force Chevy tools control over it. The full method is in this thread somewhere.

    Otherwise, you could make a backup, flash another rom and test.

    good luck
     
  2. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    This LED worked for months with the ROM. Then just one day it just stopped. Then I swear the one day I saw it light up for me, but then it hasn't ever since. I thought LEDs lasted f o r e v e r! So I played with the options under Chevy Tools and could not get it to light up, tried it in Chomp, nothing. Going to try and download Handcent and try, I saw a possible fix by slowing the blink rate. Worth a shot at this point...anything I can do to get it back to working? I don't want to buy a new like a new screen for it. I want to upgrade but am a few months out.
     
  3. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +14
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Well, that is odd, because I am with you. LED's are supposed to last forever-ish. Try flashing a different rom just for kicks, otherwise I guess your LED died somehow.

    good luck
     
  4. paramax55

    paramax55 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This must have started way back in froyo or something because I don't see any mention of it in this thread... I finally upgraded last night from SS4.96 (loved that rom) and now my microphone button for voice to text is gone. What gives? I used that more than typing...
     
  5. 1FZFE

    1FZFE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City of Medicine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do you have google voice search installed? If not, get it from the market.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  6. paramax55

    paramax55 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't you know... I found that right after I posted this. Derka-derk. :p
     
  7. 1FZFE

    1FZFE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City of Medicine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Haha. That's usually what happens to me.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  8. paramax55

    paramax55 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I'm starting to feel like an idiot. I've read this entire thread twice and I don't see where to change the low battery notification. I see how to change the LED setting for the low battery, but not the on-screen notification. Does that setting change both? The on-screen notification absolutely gives Pandora a fit. It's really bad if you're already in the gym when it starts happening...
     
  9. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +14
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    I don't have my phone in front of me right now, but I believe that the low led setting does all of it. Yeah, that's the only thing that bugs about this rom. I have to basically go to the lock screen and then power the phone off from there.

    good luck
     
  10. kmagameguy

    kmagameguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +14
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Nice find. And now a little self plug for the above fix. I have made a flashable file that performs that fix. It's in my collection called:

    BatteryPopupFixFlashable_update.zip


    good luck
     
  12. ninjadan9

    ninjadan9 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a few bugs that I noticed in SS 5.6:
    • The wireless tether app won't make a connection with my client computer.
    • Whenever I try to turn on USB storage, my phone reboots.
    • Force reboot when connected to USB tether.
    • Custom apps that should have been locked in memory close automatically over time.

     
Search tags for this page

how to changebattery notifications simply stunning

,

simply stunning 5.6 multimedia messaging