SS 5.5 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. mariska

    mariska New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the market that came with your 5.5 at first, which kept crashing, so I manually updated to the newest leaked market (v3.1.3) and same thing is happening. Should I uninstall that version and send you a logcat using the 3.0.27 version that came with your rom?
     
  2. 666ogre666

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think this has been mentioned yet but the vm heap size doesn't seem to change for me. I ended up changing it manually by editing the build.prop with root explorer

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Check the file /data/property/ persist.sys.vm.heapsize
    That's what Chevy's vm heap setting changes, not the build.prop

    supercharged modified simply stunning 5.5 w/turbocharged 3g
    Chevyno1 ulv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    honeycomb 3D theme
    19.8 linpack score
     
  4. evander

    evander New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it installed finally after a few wipes. It gets real buggy when charging,starts freezing or rebooting?
     
  5. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Change kernels, higher voltage or lower speed (stock is 1GHz lv)

    supercharged modified simply stunning 5.5 w/turbocharged 3g
    Chevyno1 ulv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    honeycomb 3D theme
    19.8 linpack score
     
  6. 666ogre666

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I was using root tools and that showed that it was still the same, maybe just cause it was reading off the buil.prop

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. 666ogre666

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also changing framework animations removes all my user accounts...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yep, I responded to this one, but it's not in the OP - this is an unfortunate side-effect of directly manipulating framework - that is what happens - nothing I can do about it, as far as I know ...
     
  9. Psychlone

    Psychlone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the first time ever, I have a bug in a SS build.

    I initially had SS5.4 and flashed the new ROM having only wiped the cache, and after a reboot, the phone exhibited a REALLY strange behavior that I've not seen nor heard about before... it wouldn't come back on after having the USB plugged in unless I slid open the keyboard.

    So, I figured that some remnant was messing with the new ROM and I went back into recovery and wiped cache and data 3x each, wiped boot and then flashed from scratch. It still does this same thing, but taking it back to SS5.4, it doesn't have this weird USB thing.

    The phone still works fine, and so far as I've tested, everything else works - I don't have any of the other bugs that anyone else has mentioned except for one that doesn't matter to me: Zoom in video mode causes a FC (again, I could care less, so this isn't an issue with me)
    It's just that any time the USB is plugged in, the power button won't wake the phone - and it doesn't matter if the other end of the USB is plugged into a computer or into the wall... same effect. If USB has been plugged in at all, I have to slide the keyboard open to wake the phone up. And it only happens on SS 5.5 - both after only wiping cache coming from 5.4, and from a fresh install...


    Anyone else??

    Psychlone
     
    #129 Psychlone, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
  10. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yep, build.prop would still show the old setting ...
     
  11. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes, can you try that?
     
  12. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are you using an aftermarket cable? Does the same happen regardless of being plugged into the wall or computer? Aside from that - as metalspring suggests, try changing the kernel out ...
     
Search tags for this page

bubo bubo

,

heap size