1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SS 5.4 GPS not working

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by richlux, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. richlux
    Offline

    richlux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed SS 5.4 (coming from Pete's GPA15) and I have to say wow, thanks ChevyNo1! I've only had it on for 1 day, but it seems faster and better in many ways. Anyway, I noticed that GPS is not working. I've toggled it on and off, but still, applications that need my location (Maps, Weather, etc.) cannot get it. I didn't have this problem with GPA15, so I was wondering if this was a known issue and if there was a fix for it. I already did the OTA Update 1 for SS 5.4 and that didn't fix it.

    Thanks,
    Rich
  2. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    This is definitely not a known issue, or an issue at all. My suggestion would be to reboot into recovery, wipe data/factory reset 3 times, wipe cache partition 3 times, wipe dalvik cache 3 times. Reboot into recovery, flash ROM, reboot into recovery, flash kernel. Something went wrong with the install because GPS is definitely working (i know because i tested this build for Chevy). Not saying anything at all was your fault, just saying something might have went haywire with the install. Just out of curiosity too, what recovery are you using?
  3. speedfreeq
    Offline

    speedfreeq New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    weaverville, nc
    I've had GPS geek out on me from time to time. For whatever reason, toggling airplane mode seemed to fix it. It could easily be that the stock kernel doesn't like your device, as well. Try one of Pete's GB kernels or deprimed.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  4. richlux
    Offline

    richlux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using ClockworkMod for recovery. I've done a little more testing and GPS is actually working, just not as well as it used to with other ROMs. If I go outside in the open sky, GPS works fine, but in my house and my office it can't seem to hold onto the signal. With Pete's ROM, I had no problems even in the basement of my house. It's almost as if the GPS signal is weaker with SS, if that's even possible. When I was running Pete's ROM, I was using Chevy's 800 Mhz LV Kernel. I see that SS uses his 1 Gig kernel, but I have it running at 800 Max. I can try another Kernel, but I have doubts if that will do anything.

    Rich
  5. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    The GPS signal shouldn't be weaker. If you're going to leave the device clocked at 800mhz then if I were you, I would go back to his kernels and I suggest getting the 800mhz medium voltage kernel. That one might work out better for you. The kernel shouldn't have anything to do with the GPS really but you just never know.
  6. richlux
    Offline

    richlux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm gonna give that a try.

    Thanks,
    Rich
  7. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure about your GPS issue, but I will say of your phone llikes low voltage stick with low voltage.

    I tried medium voltage for the heck of it and my phone ran consistently hotter.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. snowboardwcu
    Offline

    snowboardwcu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    I am also seeing this issue on two of my OG's. one is activated, one is not. both running ULV 1Ghz kernel.

    i'm pretty familiar with flashing, so i'm 99% sure i did the process correctly. one phone even came from SS5.4 as i just wanted to start from scratch.

    barring trying to wipe/flash again, any other bright ideas?
  9. snowboardwcu
    Offline

    snowboardwcu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    update to my post from yesterday.

    i updated each phone with chevy's 1Ghz LV kernel, and both GPSs work fine now. still seeing a dramatic difference in 'signal' when inside/outside of the house, as some of you are reporting here and elsewhere. doesn't work nearly as good as my DX, but it never did...

    just wanted to included this as a quote, bc i would have tended to agree with you, in terms of using diff versions of Chevy's kernel. but this seemed to do the trick.
  10. richlux
    Offline

    richlux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm now running ChevyNo1's medium voltage kernel and its a little better. I have the same inside /outside issue. I've tried a number of his kernels and this seems to work the best. Still no where near as good as Petes ROM that I was running prior to this.

    Rich
  11. snowboardwcu
    Offline

    snowboardwcu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philadelphia
    just to clarify, petes ROM and his kernel? or were you running his kernel on SS? which of petes ROM?

    edit: just re-read OP, clearly coming from GPA15. i had major issues with this build, i discounted it immediately. i hear GPA16 is fixed for these issues.
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  12. richlux
    Offline

    richlux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was running GPA15 with ChevyNo1's kernel. The I saw that GPA16 is out now but I, really like SS much better.

    Rich
Search tags for this page

ve ssv gps not working