SPRecovery vs ROM Manager

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thinkmega, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. thinkmega

    thinkmega Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From time to time I find ROM suggested to be installed by SPRecovery. Can they be installed by ROM Manager too? ROM Manager appears to be very convenient to use but I dont know whether ROMs are tied to specific recovery tool.

    Please help.

    J.
     
  2. Cornholieo

    Cornholieo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    SPRecovery

    You can install ROM easily using ROM Manager, and I have done so in the past. The most recent ROM I installed though "Sapphire" did not install correctly with RM and I ended up having to re-flash with SPRecovery. Wifi was broken when I installed with RM.

    I think that SPRecovery has a cleaner install than RM which is why so many Devs recommend it.

    BTW Sapphire is awesome :)
     
  3. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    914
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    +1

    +2





    10char
     
  4. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Sir Psychos Recovery (vote applied)
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I agree
    10 char
     
  6. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    +100 for SPRecovery
    If you are flashing Custom Roms you should be able to do it manually.


    Rom Manager is for noobs

    Just my opinion
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    SPR is been the "gold" standard!

    Mike
     
  8. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    No one is answering his question. SPR fanboys have announced their prefernce, but what he wants to know is can an update designed for SPRecovery be installed using Rom Manager? If so, how?

    It seems to me I have taken an update setup for RM and renamed it to update.zip and used SPRecovery to install it. Is it just a matter of giving it a new name?

    Nate
     
  9. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    +1

    THAT'S IT!!! i'm going to flash sapphire lol
     
  10. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know a ROM packaged for ROM Manager can not be simply renamed 'update.zip' and used through Sprecovery. However I don't know if it works in reverse.
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    The answer "can one install a rom via RM when SPR has been suggested" depends on how one looks at the question. If you use RM with CW flashed then using RM to flash a particular rom depends on the developer making his/her rom available via RM. If, however, the developer has not opted to have his/her rom in RM then SPR is the answer. Additionally, if someone has RM installed BUT flashes the alternate recovery SPR then RM can not be used.

    Hope this clarifies how the fan boys feel:icon_ peace:
     
  12. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Its a matter of if you want to give koush money to do what you can do yourself for free. SPRecovery was the standard before koush got greedy, and is the only reason I will not run a rom that needs to be installed with ROM manager. I dont care for the tactics and BS (for a lack of a better word) that came to this forum with that developer. Take it for what it is worth, but I dont see how paying for a free ROM is right by any standards. Plus he ran an unnamed developer off this board for "stealing" some work, and had the audacity to charge people for the same rom he was here pi***** and moaning about. Just my $0.02.
     
  13. roberj13

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    It depends.

    My zips for my themes can be left alone for clockwork or renamed update.zip for sp they work both ways.

    Not all do though, backups def cannot be used from one to another.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  14. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Damn it Bob tell us how you really feel :icon_ poke:
     
  15. Mikejl

    Mikejl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having a little problem with the technical aspect of your statement. You mean the somewhere during the flashing operation RM messed up a few bits of the ROM that had to do with the wifi, but completed the rest of the installation?

    Then SPRecovery took that exact same ROM image and installed it flawlessly?

    Is that pretty much what happened?

    Or did you downlown the ROM again and then flash with SPRecovery?

    Mike
     
Search tags for this page

rom manager and tar files