1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SPRecovery vs ROM Manager

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by thinkmega, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. thinkmega
    Offline

    thinkmega New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From time to time I find ROM suggested to be installed by SPRecovery. Can they be installed by ROM Manager too? ROM Manager appears to be very convenient to use but I dont know whether ROMs are tied to specific recovery tool.

    Please help.

    J.
  2. Cornholieo
    Offline

    Cornholieo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SPRecovery

    You can install ROM easily using ROM Manager, and I have done so in the past. The most recent ROM I installed though "Sapphire" did not install correctly with RM and I ended up having to re-flash with SPRecovery. Wifi was broken when I installed with RM.

    I think that SPRecovery has a cleaner install than RM which is why so many Devs recommend it.

    BTW Sapphire is awesome :)
  3. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    +1

    +2





    10char
  4. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Sir Psychos Recovery (vote applied)
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I agree
    10 char
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    +100 for SPRecovery
    If you are flashing Custom Roms you should be able to do it manually.


    Rom Manager is for noobs

    Just my opinion
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    SPR is been the "gold" standard!

    Mike
  8. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No one is answering his question. SPR fanboys have announced their prefernce, but what he wants to know is can an update designed for SPRecovery be installed using Rom Manager? If so, how?

    It seems to me I have taken an update setup for RM and renamed it to update.zip and used SPRecovery to install it. Is it just a matter of giving it a new name?

    Nate
  9. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    +1

    THAT'S IT!!! i'm going to flash sapphire lol
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know a ROM packaged for ROM Manager can not be simply renamed 'update.zip' and used through Sprecovery. However I don't know if it works in reverse.
  11. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    The answer "can one install a rom via RM when SPR has been suggested" depends on how one looks at the question. If you use RM with CW flashed then using RM to flash a particular rom depends on the developer making his/her rom available via RM. If, however, the developer has not opted to have his/her rom in RM then SPR is the answer. Additionally, if someone has RM installed BUT flashes the alternate recovery SPR then RM can not be used.

    Hope this clarifies how the fan boys feel:icon_ peace:
  12. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Its a matter of if you want to give koush money to do what you can do yourself for free. SPRecovery was the standard before koush got greedy, and is the only reason I will not run a rom that needs to be installed with ROM manager. I dont care for the tactics and BS (for a lack of a better word) that came to this forum with that developer. Take it for what it is worth, but I dont see how paying for a free ROM is right by any standards. Plus he ran an unnamed developer off this board for "stealing" some work, and had the audacity to charge people for the same rom he was here pi***** and moaning about. Just my $0.02.
  13. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It depends.

    My zips for my themes can be left alone for clockwork or renamed update.zip for sp they work both ways.

    Not all do though, backups def cannot be used from one to another.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  14. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Damn it Bob tell us how you really feel :icon_ poke:
  15. Mikejl
    Offline

    Mikejl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    I'm having a little problem with the technical aspect of your statement. You mean the somewhere during the flashing operation RM messed up a few bits of the ROM that had to do with the wifi, but completed the rest of the installation?

    Then SPRecovery took that exact same ROM image and installed it flawlessly?

    Is that pretty much what happened?

    Or did you downlown the ROM again and then flash with SPRecovery?

    Mike
  16. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully I'm not the only one who found this funny. Nice play on words :)
  17. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Sorry, I really need to stop holding things back. :icon_ devil:
  18. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Rom manager is the wrong question.

    Rom manager is nothing without clockwork recovery.

    I preference clockwork recovery over SPrecovery, clockwork is an android standard whereas SPrecovery is a Droid standard.

    If I go to a different phone, I still want to be able to get the recovery changed and be able to flash roms.
  19. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Hey we all need to enjoy each other and have fun. Hope my comments made you laugh!

    Mike
  20. Mikejl
    Offline

    Mikejl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Forest, CA
    You can flash Custom ROMs manually using RM by powering off your droid and powering on and pressing the X key. Just like SPRecovery.

    Mike
Search tags for this page

rom manager and tar files