SPrecovery leaves personal info intact?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hanfeitzu02, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. hanfeitzu02

    hanfeitzu02 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I noticed after I rooted and flashed BB.4 My phone had completely wiped. Had to do the *228 to program the phone and all that.

    Made a backup.

    After making some tweaks, themes, kernels, etc. for a few days, I used SPrecovery to restore back to the original BB.4 install.

    However, After rebooting, and putting in my gmail account, I turned on wifi... and found that my phone remembered my home wifi settings and password and was already connecting.

    Why did this persist through a restore? Yes, I wiped data and cache three times.

    Is doing an install from update.zip on memory card more thorough?
     
  2. thatguychuck

    thatguychuck Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SD
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I remember correctly, wifi information is one of the settings backed up to the google cloud when you check the "backup user settings" box. I don't think it has anything to do with being "left over" in the phone, it just restores itself with your google login.