Sprecovery and 2.2 self-update

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mrvogt, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. mrvogt

    mrvogt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Sprecovery, but never rooted or did a custom ROM. When I tried installing 2.2 using the latest update.zip file, it aborted.

    When I get the 2.2 OTA, will it be able to update, or do I have to go back to 2.01, then 2.1 to get 2.2?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You will need to remove SPRecovery or you will Not get the update.
     
  3. kaosknox

    kaosknox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just unrooted how do i make sure I dont have spf recovery?
     
  4. kaosknox

    kaosknox New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    under astro file i still have clockworkmod on my card thats not something I need since im back to stock 2.0.1 right?
     
  5. mrvogt

    mrvogt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if I go to 2.01 to remove Sprecovery, can I go straight to 2.2 upsing update.zip or will i have to go to 2.1 first?
     
  6. deaf leppy

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How will you plan on doing an update.zip flash if you don't have SP?...
     
  7. mrvogt

    mrvogt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't I hold down X while powering on to read update.zip on root SD?
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you try to load the update. Is sprecovery it will fail. You need to remove SPRecovery then you hold the x and power up. You will get to a screen with a yellow triangle then by using camera button and volume up you'll get to where you can install the update.
     
  9. mrvogt

    mrvogt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh, yes, volume and camera button...it's all coming back!
    Got 2.1 on, thanks.
     
  10. ljprevo

    ljprevo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't we just get the official OTA update.zip file and install with SPRecovery?
     
  11. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sure. And then when it boots up it will automatically and immediately re-flash your recovery image, removing SPRecovery and replacing it with the stock recovery.
     
Search tags for this page

sprecovert zip update