SPR / 5.2 Stuck at M Screen

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by Lloyds, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Lloyds

    Lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't see the warning in Chevy's 5.2 announcement about potential issues with upgrading to 5.2 from 5.1 using SPR. Well, it's for real.

    What can I do? Do I need to wipe and install 5.2 fresh? Can I somehow get clockworks over SPR and install from that?
     
  2. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    The install using SPR will not work - I would suggest re-installing the last ROM that installed correctly with SPR - then (if you have Rom Manager) flash CWR over top ...
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Agree! I would restore the last good backup you have then follow Chevy's instructions for an update.

    Let us know how you resolve, please
     
  4. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    One other thing you should be able to do, to get it booted - however, the issue is that other pieces of the install did not happen that should have - however, this should get it booted at least:

    1. Reboot to recovery
    2. Mount system partition
    3. Using ADB, enter this in terminal:

    ln -sf /system/lib/libaudiopolicy_dsp.so /system/lib/libaudiopolicy.so

    Now reboot
     
  5. danachee

    danachee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having just completed this path, what worked for me:

    Download the latest RZRecovery (I believe the link is now on the 5.2 announcement)
    Plug the phone into the USB
    Boot into SPRecovery
    Select mount options, Enable USB Mass Storage
    On your computer, copy the RZRecovery zip to the now-mounted SD Card (as update.zip)
    Back on the phone, disable USB Storage
    Do the install, Allow update.zip installation, install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated)
    Reboot into recovery, and now you're running RZRecovery.

    Redo the install of your 5.2 zip, and all should be fine.

    Good luck!
     
  6. Lloyds

    Lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I put 5.1 back on. Then downloaded ROM Manager, flashed Clockwork and then flashed 5.2. So far everything looks like it's working just fine.

    As an aside, do people normally download ROM updates through ROM Manager and if so is there a way to do it quickly? I cancelled after it was 5% done after about 5 minutes and just did it manually.
     
  7. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    RM can only point to one path - whereas here I can post up mirrors - likely the path it pointed to (my ftp site) was being overrun! :icon_eek:
     
  8. bishop

    bishop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Ohh well finally time to move on from SPR. So the easiest way is to use Rom Manager and flash CWR? Or should I say which recover do you recommend?
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Both CWR (yes, flash from RM) and RZR are good. I have not had a single recovery issue yet with RZR (make SURE you use the latest version 2.0.3)
     
  10. bishop

    bishop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    never mind guys. just read up on RZ and it looks good to me. Glad someone pointed this out because it was driving me nuts last night trying to update.
     
  11. bishop

    bishop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Chevy!
     
  12. psi

    psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This has happen to me when it tried to upgrade, how do i get it to reboot in recovery mode?
     
  13. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Press and hold X and power at the same time
     
  14. psi

    psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I used Rom Manager, and this happned? reverting back to the backup now,maybe i am using a older version?
     
  15. trol1374

    trol1374 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using RM I had it get stuck twice and had to do a battery pull and wipe after each one. After second wipe it loaded and booted up just fine.