speed test data usage

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by tekjunkie28, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. tekjunkie28

    tekjunkie28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Salem va
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had my GNex for almost a month now and come the 15th the billing cycle should be up for my verizon bill. I checked today and I'm just over 1GB of data!!!!!!!!!!! Thats insane bc I have NEVER gone over 700MB before. I know some of you guys are going to say that I am using my phone more but i dont think so. I think all that usage has come from doing speed tests from the app. Can anyone tell me how much data it uses? And does anyone know a app that can track data usage or how accurate the ICS data usage feedback is in the setting menu. Thanks!
     
  2. soulshot96

    soulshot96 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bro I used 2gb of data within 3 hours of getting this phone. You on a data debit or something? Or do you not have unlimited?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
     
  3. kurumatt

    kurumatt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Traffic monitor

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. tekjunkie28

    tekjunkie28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Salem va
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I just don't really use it that much and its still easier to get on my pc to do stuff. I don't use Netflix, stream music or anything like that

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    If you use speedtest a lot you'll use a lot more data than you normally would if you're an average user.

    In the first few weeks, speedtest was my highest data usage.
     
  6. tekjunkie28

    tekjunkie28 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Salem va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I used it a lot also but I was wondering if Amy knew how much data went through on A average test

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  7. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    Just doing mine now it used 19MB for one test on 4G.

    You can check your data by going to settings, data usage, look at your speed test usage, then do a test and subtract the difference.
     
Search tags for this page
does speedtest use data
,
how much data does a speed test use
,
how much data does speed test use
,

how much data does speedtest use

,
how much data does speedtest use?
,
how much data does speedtest.net app use
,

how much data does speedtest.net use

,
speed test data usage
,
speed test uses a lot of data
,
speedtest.net data usage