Speech to text

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by tlpowers, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. rjksa

    rjksa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the app suggestions for speech to text. I will take a look at the 2 that were mentioned.
     
  2. chomorro

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why are the reviews not so great on both these apps. You guys should post reviews on there :). Average Joe like me might stay away from them thinking only 3 stars, but then i find this awesome site lol. Trying the free one first....

    Ok maybe im not understanding here. I read this FaQ http://www.handcent.com/Faq.php#TAG_SPEEKSMS and i installed Handcent SMS and TTS Library. All i can get it to do is read my text messages to me. How do i get it to translate my voice to text??

    Thanks in advance
     
    #14 chomorro, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  3. rjksa

    rjksa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the .99 Talktome keyboard. I was very happy with the quality. The one item it (or the SMS app) did was remove the display of the suggested words that you are typing. For someone that is a S-L-O-W typer, i liked that feature. However, back to the speech to text, TalkToMe Keyboard for .99 has been great.
     
  4. griz8791

    griz8791 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem and initially thought I hadn't installed it correctly.

    This app has a LOT of options. You need to go into the settings and scroll way, way down through the almost interminable options. Near the bottom is an entire group of settings labeled "speech." I found one or more of those unchecked, and after enabling them found I had a microphone icon in my compose-text window.
     
  5. chomorro

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks i was so confused lol. I ended getting talk to me keyboatd but now im goong to try handsent

    I just checked and i think the settongs you are referring to are for reading texts outloud.
     
    #17 chomorro, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  6. ThePhoneGuy

    ThePhoneGuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded it, pretty good, not bad at all.
     
  7. chomorro

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +1
    with talk to me keyboard is there a way to have text predict enabled still? Im evem worse at typing now lol
     
  8. wegriffith3

    wegriffith3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Went down to the bottom, found the "speech" label, but only box I can check/uncheck is which TTS I use. Can't seem to get the micropone icon to display in my compose-text window. Any ideas??
     
  9. griz8791

    griz8791 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is probably my fault. In my post above I said something about microphone in the compose window, and that isn't right. The microphone icon doesn't initially appear in the compose window. You have to touch the menu key to get it.

    Start Handcent. With my set up this icon is in the top left corner of the screen and looks like a piece of paper with a pencil laying across it diagonally.

    Once Handcent is displaying this "new message" window, touch the menu key on the chassis of the phone. It's a hardware button, not a screen button -- the one between the "back" key and the "home" key. That will bring up 6 new screen buttons at the bottom of your "new message" window. On mine, the "speak" icon looks like a microphone. Sometimes it shows up on the left side of the bottom row of 3 buttons, sometimes it's in the center of that row.
     
  10. wegriffith3

    wegriffith3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I had already found that route, I was hoping you were on to something super special!!

    Thanks for the info.
     
  11. chomorro

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +1
    Been using talk to me keyboard for awhile and it works great. I emailed the developer and asked for text predict and now the new version has it. Excellent support and definitely recommend this app at 99 cents ;)
     
  12. JohnAP2

    JohnAP2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotta love the Talk to Me! For a buck how can you go wrong...
     
Search tags for this page

droid speech to text

,

droid voice to text

,
hiw to get speaking text on verizon drod
,
speech to text app for droid
,
talk to text app for droid
,
talk to text droid app
,
verizon speech to text
,
verizon talk to text app
,
verizon text to speech app
,
verizon voice to text app