Speech to Text - How Can There Be A Difference?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by billyk, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've been using S2T a lot since 2.1 came out. As a Swype user, I typically hit the menu button and access the Mic from there. Worked great.

    For the past week, I have been 100% unable to get punctuation to work correctly. When I say "period" at the end of a sentence, I get the word "period". Same for other common punctuation. I just figured that Google's speech logic/algorithms have been suffering, and maybe good S2T will occur again for me at some point.

    So, I tried the HTC keyboard as of yesterday. I tried S2T from their keyboard - it got the punctuation right. I've been using S2T often since and it gets punctuation 100% correct. I switch over to Swype - and I can't get any punctuation to work properly.

    How can this happen? This is a back-end service provided by Google to any app, right?

    I wouldn't be posting if there was some variation in this, but it's 100% right with HTC, 100% wrong with Swype, even when I say the same sentences!

    Explain this one!
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Maybe it's not getting the period because it's having menopause?:rofl3:

    I'm sorry, I couldn't resist.

    And if I don't say it, someone will.;)
     
  3. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  4. thenowherekid

    thenowherekid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice. very nice
     
  5. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    how do you get speech to text using swype? I usually have to switch my input method if I wanna use s2t.
     
  6. billyk

    billyk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Should have been properly stated: I use S2T when using Swype in Handcent SMS. There, it's under "Menu".

    -bk
     
  7. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Oh, so its only in handcent, damn
     
  8. griz8791

    griz8791 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1. I actually felt my pulse quickening until I realized he was probably talking about Handcent.
     
  9. thenowherekid

    thenowherekid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The handcent s2t probably isn't as advanced as the one provided by google. Using googles s2t allows you to punctuate and it seems handcent does not.
     
Search tags for this page

google voice punctuation

,
s4 speech text punctuation