1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Soooo............ About that Bootloader.................

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by armoayjay, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. armoayjay
    Offline

    armoayjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I know that the gs3 has been cursed by the big V with their placement of testicle clamps (locked boot loader). I have been searching around and have heard of some methods to install a custom kernel and possibly install custom rooms?


    Can someone please elaborate, not just me but for all the other people just like me that have been painfully been waiting for news if it will ever be possible to install custom roms.

    And to elaborate on painful.... I have an upgrade waiting for me, has been for 4 months, (was saving it for gs3) but after shattering my dinc screen I don't think I can last......

    Thinking about a nexus, but id still love to have a gs3....idk I know I'm rambling I've just waited so long and feel like I being emotionally raped(too much?)

    Sorry if anyone can share their knowledge it be much appreciated

    So yeah someone break the ice and get this post rolling , I would like to know if I'm the only one going loony over this ?
  2. thelopenator
    Offline

    thelopenator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a custom rom on mine..
  3. armoayjay
    Offline

    armoayjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your on Verizon ? Can you over clock?
  4. armoayjay
    Offline

    armoayjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    <br>Your on Verizon ? Can you over clock?
  5. thelopenator
    Offline

    thelopenator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i can over clock use odin located here: New Odin for s3 available for download - xda-developers to gain root access. You will need to install CWM afterwards by pushing it through with ADB. You will also need all the drivers. They can be installed by using Kies. Just press the Troubleshoot option in Kies. Then you are set. So Odin=root ADB=CWM.
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
  6. armoayjay
    Offline

    armoayjay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I see sorry im still a custom to thing from my og Droid days...


    So I guess that after installing cwm u can basically do whatever you want and the locked boot loader shouldn't be a concern? Please correct me if I'm wrong
  7. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The locked bootloader still causes issues but because of the way Samsung encrypted the device, devs have found some workarounds. As I understand it, when you install a kernel, it replaces your recovery on the S3 and you have to boot to your recovery each time before booting to the OS if you want to use the kernel. Now keep in mind this is my limited understanding.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Exactly, syndicate.

    I'm told that, unless you're dead-set on using CWM, you can use the TWRP installed via the Goo Manager -- no need for ADB, so far less risk of borking the phone!
  9. thelopenator
    Offline

    thelopenator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's actually a app in the play store. It does the adb commands for you to get cwm. Only the Verizon version though
  10. squeekybigfoot
    Offline

    squeekybigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    right now all the verizon custom roms are just like stock but stripped down and more usable.
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  11. thelopenator
    Offline

    thelopenator New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what?
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    So they're not "true" ROMs and some people make a distinction between them.
  13. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Doesn't the locked bootloader put a hindrance on the possibility of AOSP ROMs?
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Puts the kibosh on them. Kexec works, but it replaces the recovery partition, so until we get a functional SD-based recovery utility that puts even Kexec out as a possibility, but we may see something soon anyway. Progress on unlocking the bootloader proceeds apace, but that's still a long shot.
  15. squeekybigfoot
    Offline

    squeekybigfoot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I say within a month we will be like everyone else :)
  16. INCREMENTAL
    Offline

    INCREMENTAL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
  17. skennelly
    Offline

    skennelly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
  18. INCREMENTAL
    Offline

    INCREMENTAL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I didn't know, what about this http://thedroidguy.com/2012/07/galaxy-s-iii-developer-edition-now-up-on-samsung/ the developer version?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  19. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The GSIII Developer Edition will come with an unlockable bootloader, but it will also come with a $600 price tag because it is only sold through Samsung, contract free.
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    And if you're keeping your unlimited data plan, get used to paying $600 for new phones.

    In Thailand/Korea the 16GB, quad-core, LTE-enabled, 2GB RAM phones are going for $999 US.