Somebody please!!!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by jamestheartist, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. jamestheartist

    jamestheartist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my RAZR, but it rooted and installed Bionic Bootstrap. Now I know that if I tried to flash a recovery with Bionic, my system would get corrupted...can someone please tell me how to safely remove Bionic Bootstrap and install Safestrap, so I can flash at will? Also...since I already rooted will it still do a factory restore from Safestrap? Sorry for the "newb" q's, but I'm a freakin' newb! Lol
     
  2. Shadez

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,425
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +207
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
  3. groovydeus

    groovydeus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    39.8° N 84.2° W
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here...

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. Digital Cha0s

    Digital Cha0s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well all I did was uninstall the first bootstrap from manage apps in system,
    then installed safestrap and all seems to work fine for me
     
  5. jamestheartist

    jamestheartist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I figured right out of the gate...but then seeing that so many say you have to go into root explorer etc., type in .bin extensions, rename files and whatnot I just assumed it couldn't be that easy, lol. Have you flashed back to your factory system ROM yet? Oh, and if I already have root when I flash back over to the original system, will root remain? (For warranty issues, etc.)
     
  6. Digital Cha0s

    Digital Cha0s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root will remain being that you should make a back up before you go and install any mods/roms activating/deactivating safe boot if un-rooting is your issue afterwards try searching the forums for unrooting

    Sent from my superior DROID RAZR
     
  7. JaBr1884

    JaBr1884 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    I haven't been able to get a clear answer on this either, I've looked into it when I couldn't update to the OTA. I have found some extra steps for removing bootstrap, steps that weren't taken when safestrap was installed and "uninstalled" from the safestrap menu as someone had recommended. You can see what I am referring to in my post below, but two people have ran into bootloops, so be careful or don't even try it. I followed the steps and had no problems, so I don't know if they followed the procedure exactly.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ow-remove-razr-bootstrap-custom-recovery.html
     
  8. custompro98

    custompro98 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1:D
     
  9. jamestheartist

    jamestheartist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good info! Yeah, I'm a little leery at this point because this ain't a cheap phone, lol. If I don't flash a recovery, will it be fine to just leave as is until the gods in the dev community create a safe un-root system? Because then I'll just do a factory on it, re-root and use safestrap to keep the system image intact and flash away! Thanx all for the replies!
     
  10. thelastbill

    thelastbill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am one of the ones who ran into the boot loop. I have a clockwork mod backup showing in the recovery. I just cant figure out how to initiate it. I can get into adb but my comp isnt recognizing the device. What do i do?
     
  11. jamestheartist

    jamestheartist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you flash clockword mod? How did the boot loop start? What were the conditions that started the boot loop?
     
  12. JaBr1884

    JaBr1884 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you boot the phone into bootloader mode? I haven't used adb in forever, maybe I'm confusing this with SBFing
     
Search tags for this page

get rid of bionic bootstrapper