Some google voice help, yo.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by nerdbox08, May 12, 2010.

  1. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Hey guys,

    it's been a while since I asked a question or really been around, but I do need some help with Google Voice.


    I don't care if I use my own minutes, but I live in a basement and I have shoddy service down here. My question is this: How can I make calls over wifi?

    Is it the same method used to circumvent using any minutes at all?

    My GV number is not my primary number, but I am setting it up as a business contact number and would like to be able to receive those calls because I do scheduling; am I making a mistake attempting to take phone calls for work over wifi and GV? lol

    I know GV is great, but it's still in the beta; If a general conclusion comes up that it's a bad idea to use GV as a business line, does Verizon offer an option that I can pick up a second number and have it forwarded to my current handset?

    I really want to avoid having two handsets and I would love to be able to take calls over wifi because of the bad voice/1g/3g signal.

    Thanks guys!
  2. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Google Voice, just like the worthless Skype app - has you dial another number which Google then forwards to the number you want to dial. So unless you have 5 family and friends and add google voice to your list, you'll be using minutes if you have it forwarding to your cell phone.

    No way to use it with WiFi as it dials a number with your voice service. :/ Google Voice rocks tho. Skype? No excuse. Booooo.
  3. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Hrm. This is no good!

    I don't care about the minutes, I just want to be able to get the calls, lol.

    I guess I'll continue searching. Le sigh

    Thanks!
  4. MikeSWelch
    Offline

    MikeSWelch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon Network Extender
  5. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    I was considering this option, mildly. But for the price I think I could just as easily find another option that would work just as well without additional hardware.

    Thanks for the link, I'll more into it :)
  6. pjo1966
    Offline

    pjo1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  7. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
  8. pjo1966
    Offline

    pjo1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I did the research that led me to those documents, but I haven't been willing to do the work. It's a bit involved.
  9. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    When I first got my Google Voice account like, 3 months ago, I did do this.

    It was a PITA to get working, but I did. I am sure that it wouldn't be hard to do it again, but I just don't feel like banging my head against the desk until it does work, the same with rooting again.

    When I get the extra time, I might end up doing it all at once, but for now, I just can't fathom setting aside 4-5 hours right now to do it all. :icon_evil: