some basic questions about roms/themes

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by greg4501, Aug 9, 2010.

1. greg4501

greg4501 New Member

Some basic questions here, i just rooted over the weekend so i'm very new to it.

I'm running bugless beast 0.4 with Froyo 2.2
    and i'm running the red glass theme..

my questions are mainly about switching out roms/themes.
    Ok so i just did a nandroid backup..and i want to intall a new theme..can i just go ahead and install it over the theme i have now?
    and if i want to go back to that theme with all my data, do i just do the backup?
    also do i have to clear the cache everytime? stupid question but when i did that the first time i lost everything i had O_O

Now with roms, how does that work? If i want to change out roms i mean.
    theres a theme i want that doesnt work with the current rom i have.

Just wanted to ask before i do anything on my own and cause problems.
  2. icculusX

icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

My basic thoughts are this:

If you on a ROM and want a different theme, make a nandroid backup and then install the new theme over the old one. Now, there is a good change something or many things will look wrong. This means you should flash the stock ROM back and THEN install the new theme you want.

As for flashing a new ROM, I suggest using a program like Titanium Backup (free) and do a full backup of your apps and data. Then make a nandroid backup. Then wipe your data and cache a few times just to make sure you are clean, and now you can install the new ROM. After the ROM boots up you can then use Titanium Backup to restore all your apps, data, and home setup.
  3. DF Smod

DF Smod New Member