Software Update Availble

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by jared845, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. jared845
    Offline

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i went to check for software updates and my phone was prompted with an available update, I am afraid to down load it because i do not want to expierence any rebooting issues.....does anyone know wat this update is? the Size of this file is 35.649. Again i dont want to have to be sent yet another device..any insight anyone can provide would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Jared
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I wouldn't update. Gingerbread is around 100 MB, so its definitely not that.

    sent from my ApeX
  3. jared845
    Offline

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What could it be tho? I am not going to ...just curious !
  4. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    It's probably the MR1 update that's caused problems.
  5. jared845
    Offline

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Funny if you think that ... i have been checking for weeks and had no software available...now this is...dont u think they would stop providing an update that causes these kind of issues/?
  6. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,546
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Trophy Points:
    113
    There is suppose to be an update soon to remove the mobile hotspot app so they can start charging to use it.

    sent from droidforums app
  7. thurilok
    Offline

    thurilok New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll run out on a limb here and guess it's the update that will shut off wifi tether.
  8. jared845
    Offline

    jared845 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok ....thanks all !
  9. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Or, it is the MR1 update... OP what does your version say right now?
  10. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I just checked Software Update, and it didn't tell me if there was one or not... Which is kinda odd... Normally it will say there isn't one available or "SERVICE UNAVAILABLE".... No answer and just a closing of the popup... not normal
  11. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    I checked yesterday evening and nothing but "Service Unavailable" just as you got beardface.
  12. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    The next update I'll be accepting will be the Gingerbread update, and not a update prior to that one. It's kind of ridiculous that we are waiting and waiting for this Gingerbread update to solve a major problem, yet VZW has no problem pushing a update to modify a service that will benefit them. Fortunately for myself I really didn't use the mobile hotspot, but I don't want to loose root by accepting the update.
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  13. bam2044
    Offline

    bam2044 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went to check for updates and my bolt shows the checking update screen then dissipears, started doing this, this week. Any help on the situation or if anyone has same problems
  14. ttlynch1
    Offline

    ttlynch1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue phone says checking for updates then goes blank. It used to at least say no updates available.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums