So You've Rooted. Now What? (Or, a N00b's Guide to Post Root.)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by furbearingmammal, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Okay, then you have root. If Titanium Backup won't work at this point there's a bigger issue, and if BusyBox Installer won't install BusyBox (or a program that calls for it says it won't work), then there's a major issue. If you're still having issues, someone in the rescue squad should be able to help.

    If you're feeling adventurous, however, install ROMManager from the market and use it to change your ROM to a pre-rooted one that all these things work on.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  2. Jasko

    Jasko Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the writeup!
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    You're quite welcome. I'll be posting more soon, I just have been feeling under the weather and a little busy lately, and trying to help people out elsewhere on here has taken up a lot of my time as well. :)

    Check back periodically as there will be updates soon.
     
  4. Greg

    Greg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I'll start with problem #1 of several.

    FYI... I manually installed 2.2 last week with no problems. Then I installed EasyRoot with no problems. I also installed all the recommended programs like; Rom Manager, Busy Box etc.... And I DID make a nandroid backup.

    I get an error with Busy Box. Tells me something about Nand Unlocked. I have no idea how to do this. How can I fix this? I then tried downloading Superuser whitelist. It downloaded, but the installation was unsuccessful.

    I decided to go ahead an try to install my first ROM (bugless beast .4) I thought perhaps I don't need busy box functioning at this moment. I downloaded the BB.zip file and loaded it onto my sdcard. I then used the Rom Manager. I also downloaded the file via the Rom manager. I chose to install ROM from sdcard. I found the zip file. and chose to backup existing Rom. It then tells me to Reboot and Install. This is were I get lost. If I reboot I get the yellow exclamation point. Last night I would go into recovery where I"m given my 4 usual options. Reboot, Install update.zip, and 2 others I can't remember at the moment. BUT this morning, it won't even reboot.

    Please help! Things were going so smoothly that it got my confidence up and decided to install a rom, and now it's all going to hell. I'm scared.
     
  5. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    Greg has a great question I would like to hear the answer. My problem or step I am stuck at is how do I download Clockwork or sprecovery??? I am in rom manager and it doesn't tell me what to do and I try loading either one by clicking on the options it gives me either"flash alternate recovery" sprecovery 0.99.3b or at the top " flash clockworld recovery" which states underneath it that I must first have it installed. How do I install either one??? I thopught ROM manager would do it per your directions???
    I then want to do a nandroid but how do I get to that point???

    My end goal is to get 928 black on my phone!!!!
     
  6. thehirsches

    thehirsches Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My question is a bit simpler. I installed RomManager/Clockwork and ran a backup. I just want to be 100% sure it is a Nandroid since I did not see any option for that.

    Once I am sure, I am going to give the P3 low voltage 250 mhz 1000 kernel a try. I don't want anything extreme, just a bit quicker on FRG01B.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Okay, I'd recommend doublechecking Easy Root to make sure I was still rooted and something hadn't happened. Next up I'd go back to ROM Manager go down to the bottom and select where it says to flash the alternate recovery image, go back to top and flash ClockworkMOD Recovery again. Now do that one more time and you should have ClockworkMOD Recovery working.

    Once you have ClockworkMOD Recovery working again, you should be able to install Bugless Beast as per the normal instructions, and everything (including BusyBox) should install fine.
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Press the button at the very top and if it tells you it won't install, try the SPRecovery link at the bottom. If that works, you could try to flash ClockworkMOD Recovery over it or leave well enough alone. I personally prefer SPRecovery, but that's the one I've used since I rooted my phone anyway. :)

    If you leave SPRecovery on, just follow my instructions in the Theme post to flash Black Glass in. Then you can ditch ROM Manager if you want. I've heard it has had some major issues for some users, so it's up to you. Just remember to boot into recovery occasionally and make a nandroid backup.
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's the same. I think they call it a Clockwork Backup or something, but it's the same deal. It's not interchangeable with a Nandroid Backup from SPRecovery, but it'll do the same thing within ClockworkMOD Recovery. I say Nandroid because that's what I'm used to seeing and for the most part the word is interchangeable with Nandroid Backup and a Clockwork Recovery. :)

    That's a good choice for a kernel. A LOT of phones run really well on it. Just keep an eye on your battery life and if you don't like it, try one of Chevy's ULV kernels instead. Experimentation is part of the fun. :)

    Sorry for the delay, guys. I got some work today, so I was working.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  10. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    I got it on but the wrong version so I had to nandroid restore and download the very stock one... Bummer because I loved it while it worked! How do you install ROM's then if you don't use the rom manager? Do you just download it like I did the 928 files and put them on my sd card as update.zip files etc???

    1 last question sometimes I would reboot but it would not put me into SPrecovery or clock... just the standard one??? any thoughts? Serioulsy your help is really realy appreciated. you will be blessed for it
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    If I were you I'd ditch ROM Manager after I flashed SPRecovery one more time. It seems to be giving you issues. :)

    If you're using SPRecovery then yes, it's the same method as installing any update.zip-formatted theme/ROM/kernel/update.

    Once you have the ROM you want, then you can put the theme back on. It's effing awesome, isn't it? :D I'm looking forward to the final release of CM 6 so I can put it back on.
     
  12. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks for the tips!!! I will try that next then... so if I understand I should flash to SPRecovery then uninstall rom manager. I have been downloading a bunch of ROms from the premium site. I am assuming they are on my sd card. Can you PM me with a sure contact info in case I got hosed somewhere... yes I have the gitters like watching the patient bleed out in front of you when you are trying to stop it!
     
  13. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you've pulled down the premium ROMs I'd keep ROM Manager around since it'd be a bit of work to get them all back. However, I'd put SPRecovery as your recovery image and install ROMs via the update.zip method.

    And make a nandroid backup asap with SPRecovery just to be safe. :D
     
  14. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    so to make SPRECOVERY my recovery image I do that by clicking on it right in rom Manager? Do you know where the ROMs I downloaded are stored? I think Rom manager is screwing up my phone so I would like to rid myself of it. I know lame questions...
     
  15. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    dumb question do I have to have bluetooth opn to be rooted? why does it turn on each time I go back to being rooted?
     
Search tags for this page
easy root key generator
,
i've rooted my phone now what
,
iam rooted now what
,
ive rooted my note 3 now what
,
once rooted now what
,
phone is rooted now what
,
rooted my lg phone now what
,

rooted now what

,
rooted phone now what
,
what can i do now that my samsung galaxy prevail 2 is rooted