So...will YOU be switching to froyo?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by bmb0205, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. bjet767

    bjet767 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    jlouang:

    Thanks I'll give it a try.
     
  2. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    gave it another shot and I don't think I am going back
     
  3. ckamc

    ckamc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably going to try it when i get home, but i will be back when pete makes his mix of 2. 2
     
  4. tfkennady

    tfkennady Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i had to try it even though i love Bugless, and the new Froyo ROM is awesome once you get everything installed and synced. Bugless 1.1 is probably still faster but it's so close it you wouldn't really notice it.

    After Pete does his thing (BB v 1.2??? possibly) I'll probably go back with his custom Froyo ROM. Until then I just wait and keep this one.
     
  5. nyijedi

    nyijedi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The froyo rom ran great after giving it time to sync all my apps, but it just ran way too hot and it killed my battery. I'm back to BB for now.
     
  6. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    Can you go to the Market and get Quadrant, install it, and run tests between BB and the new Froyo and honestly report which is quicker and by how much. I've tried all the ROM's, including BB, and there's no way I'd say that there's a custom ROM out there that is faster than the Froyo, bar none.
     
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    does froyo screw with the baseband at all? at least this RC release?
     
  8. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    On my phone info it says: C_01.3E.03P

    Don't know if that answers your question or not.
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    it does - i'm still running rooted 2.1 and it says the exact same thing... thanks! been waiting all day to get some time to give this thing a go, has it been pretty stable for you vulcan?
     
  10. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,812
    Likes Received:
    241
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +251
    I've actually been running it just over 24 hours now. It's very very nice. Just follow the instructions in the first post over there and you'll be fine. I must warn you that for the first few minutes that you've booted up, your phone is going to sync and it could go on for quite a while, because it tries installing your apps that you previously had downloaded in the market. So, if it really lags, don't say this ROM sucks. Give it a chance. If you're using ROM Manager, and if you flash to SPRecovery, make sure you do it minimum of 2x because many people are having issues flashing to SPR from CW. Below is some things I've been posting occasionally throughout the day as a reminder to people over there. Let me know how you like Froyo.

    [FONT=&quot]Things to remember with this release:[/FONT][FONT=&quot]

    You must have a rooted Droid to use this ROM
    [/FONT]

    [FONT=&quot]
    The initial install takes a few minutes, be patient, it will boot up. (Mine was like 4 mins.)

    Wifi and 3G now work...link: Froyo Overclocked Kernels includes *wifi* fix

    The first time you run this update.zip it will take several minutes to install.


    Follow the instructions like this: 1. Start with initial download; 2. Install the Flash .apk on your SD; 3. Install the P3Droid OC Kernal for WIFI and 3G and you’ll be all set.

    Those who are already rooted and saying "hey I lost SU", go to step #3 I described above.

    I had to run "Flash Alternate Recovery" twice before I could go back to SPRecovery from ROM Manager

    For those having problems with Titanium Backup. Install the newest version of Busybox, and you should be good to go

    If you have a fresh install and think your phone is really lagging badly, hang in there, it’s doing the sync of apps and contacts. Give it like 20 minutes and even at 800 mhz you will be amazed how snappy it becomes.

    Apps2sd and Google maps is apparently hit or miss
    [/FONT][FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
     
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    ok will report back in a few, thanks for all the info
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    evidently mydroidworld is gettin' hammered...
     
Search tags for this page

droid razr maxx evony