So who turned off the 4G around here?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Sandlotje, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. Sandlotje

    Sandlotje Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Ratings:
    +2
    So this morning I got really excited because there was finally 4G all around the area where my girlfriend lives with full signal strength, getting speeds up to 30Mbps, and now I'm back at 3G. Someone needs to go turn the switch back on. Lol...
     
  2. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    4G in my area of rural TN is flaky. I'm within a half-mile to a Verizon tower. Still LTE will connect and drop randomly. Sometimes after I'm online it will suddenly drop off. I have to revert back to 3G(EV-DO) or if all else fails use 1X (CDMA 1xRTT). Slow as everything but better than no internet. I wish Android OS or Motorola could switch to the data network that is running right. VS if no 4G is online BUT available it will NOT automatically drop to 3G. I have to MANUALLY drop it down. Oh well.
     
  3. 210droid

    210droid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    210
    Ratings:
    +0
    That craps to me in san antonio. Think its fricken sux. I pay all this money for VZW crap

    xXxrazrBlackWidowICS36
     
  4. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    That happens during testing. They will compile data and make sure it is working correctly and then turn it back on "soon".
     
  5. shochman

    shochman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I usually turn off 4g. When I turn it on, many times my battery starts draining quickly. When I check my battery status, I see RILD is using the majority of the battery. I believe this is attributable to the 4g radio. I hope this is fixed when the next update comes out.
     
  6. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    473
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +622
    I had 4G crap out at the house for a few weeks. Just one day my wife and I were on 3G. After a few days I called Verizon and the investigated.

    About 3 weeks later my wife noticed she had 4G while I was at work. It was back ever since.
     
  7. Josebunbury

    Josebunbury Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here in the San Francisco Bay Area we enjoy some of the strongest 4G connections, once my Razr got going I have not seen 3G drops at all...
     
  8. eagle923

    eagle923 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Good here in central Ohio.
     
  9. Sandlotje

    Sandlotje Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Ratings:
    +2
    I assume this is the case since 4G was never present before. It's just too bad they didn't leave it up and running because it was working flawlessly for me. :D
     
  10. JDuaneJ

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 4g is spotty here in Menlo park CA... And the coverage map indicates full 4g coverage... Yet 3g is faster the majority of the time.
     
  11. p1ngputts

    p1ngputts Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +2
    4g has been spotty for me in North Carolina. Motorola forums are saying 4g has been spotty almost everywhere for the last 7-10 days.
     
  12. truebluebpb

    truebluebpb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I agree. I live 25 miles sw of Cleveland oh and for the last several days, my phone goes too often between 4g and 3g.
     
Search tags for this page

casio commando battery suddenly drained