1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

so whats up with yahoo mail and the droid?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Tmurrray315, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. Tmurrray315
    Offline

    Tmurrray315 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the droid in feb and since then i have been having problems with yahoo mail. I can get it to work on phone but it doesnt notify of new emails coming in. I tried everything and yet Nothing works. I though2.1 was suppose to fix this? Im wondering what's up with yahoo email and if i have a problem with My phone?
  2. BigGuyNH
    Offline

    BigGuyNH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in the woods of NH
    Check out my thread

    I am having the same problem with Comcast mail
  3. diverbelow
    Offline

    diverbelow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    Mine was working, but now it is not. Yes my wifi is turned off check I check it and also recreated the account like I did when I got 2.1. I found a workaround:
    To set up Yahoo E-Mail on the Motorola Droid:
    * Make sure Wi-Fi is turned off
    * Press the E-Mail icon (the default Android E-Mail application)
    * Enter your Yahoo E-Mail address and password
    * Press “Manual Setup” in the lower left hand corner
    * For “Incoming Server Settings” set the IMAP server to “imap.mail.yahoo.com” and the Port to 143
    * For “Outgoing Server Settings” set the SMTP Server to “smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com” and the Port to 587
    * Check “Require sign-in” and press Next
    * Select how often your Droid will check for Email, and choose default options
    * Give the account a name and set your display name for outgoing messages
  4. NetNathan
    Offline

    NetNathan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Droid=Google
    Maybe Google wants you to come to them....lol
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If you go to your gmail account there are instructions in the settings on how to set up yahoo. As pointed out its a Google phone. 2.1 was suppose to help clean up some yahoo issues.
  6. royta
    Offline

    royta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First time post here. I'm researching which new phone to get, and it looks like it's probably going to be Android. Android may be Google, but it seems to me that Google isn't being forced down our throats. If that were the case, I'd swear I was using a Microsoft product. :) The phone needs to be able to work with Yahoo Mail, period. Basically because I've been on a rocketmail.com account for the last 13 or so years, and I'm not switching to gmail because of Android. :)
  7. Merritt
    Offline

    Merritt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    King, NC
    You guys aren't running taskkiller are you, if you are make sure that Email is selected to ignore.
  8. Derekweb
    Offline

    Derekweb New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got a new droid 3 weeks ago. Easy set up of Yahoo mail. Only needed to input ID and password. No POP3 info, etc needed. It has worked perfectly.
  9. scarrz
    Offline

    scarrz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use K-9 email, works perfect with yahoo.


  10. shochman
    Offline

    shochman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get MailDroid. It works seemlesly with Yahoo and supports Wifi.
  11. scarrz
    Offline

    scarrz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maildroid does not seem to pull from your contact list ?
  12. shochman
    Offline

    shochman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes that is true, but it is still a beta product, and the developer is adding new features every couple of weeks. It is the only email client I can find that works with Yahoo imap on wifi.
  13. joelangley
    Offline

    joelangley New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RE: Address book

    Yes, I know about this missing feature. I have been getting a lot of requests for it over the past few days, so I believe it will be pushed up to the top of my list.
  14. geetarspaz
    Offline

    geetarspaz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in a nutshell, google wants you to run the world and have you on their emailing service...so they will give you a hard time with other services. i prefer my yahoo and i never use gmail personally. with the new update you should have to enter all those weird settings, just set up your username and password, and hit automatically..etc.. and that should be fine.
  15. joelangley
    Offline

    joelangley New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, that is not accurate. Even with the new update, yahoo will not work over wifi in the stock client.
Search tags for this page

android rocket mail logon

,

android rocketmail setup outgoing

,

configure rocketmail email settings for android

,

how to set up rocketmail email on galaxy s4

,

how to set yahoo mail for notification on a htc inspire

,

manual settings for rocketmail inspired

,

rocketmail mobile set up on droid razr

,

rocketmail setup on samsung galaxy

,

what is the imap server for rocketmail on samsung galaxy s4

,

what's up with yahoo mail on android