So, to hell with the flame wars. this is important!

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by AceDROID, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry for the title, but I figured it might grab some attention?

    the official, OTA 2.1-update1 has been out for a little while now.. and where as everyone of the devs are concentrating on making their already great 2.0.1 roms better and everything, it seems that figuring out how to Root 2.1 is going untouched.

    If I knew how to read into codes and everything else that it takes, I would take a crack at it. But unfortunately, I am not so advanced in this knowledge to be able to do it.

    Otherwise, I'd make my own ROM, but hell if it were easy, than everyone would do it! haha.

    So, the serious question, is, Is 2.1 (official, OTA update) rootable? And if so, how long till someone actually manages to gain root to it?
     
  2. Joel

    Joel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ashburn, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because of sbf files and rsdlite in the wild there is no reason to root 2.1. The droid can always be flashed to a 2.1 or 2.0.1 rom for root. See droidmod for a 2.1 sbf file with sprecovery in it.
     
  3. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anything is rootable in theory, but there's no motivation for rooting, for the reasons stated above. It simply not worth the effort.
     
  4. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    From reading the developer's posts on several different sites it doesn't look like anyone is even working on this since there is already a way around it.
     
  5. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    damn, than I need to revert back to 2.0.1 to get things moving along again. gahh
     
  6. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    Does anyone know, for instance, if you get a new droid (or a refurbished one) is the 2.1 installed prior to shipping or do they leave it to the new owner?
     
  7. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's really not as hard as it sound though. Just read through the hacking section here and you'll find the easiest way to do it.
     
  8. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if they're shipping them with 2.1 on them yet or not but you can go under settings on the phone and look and it will tell you pretty quickly what you've got.
     
  9. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    all the devs are using the new 2.1 update in there roms guys
     
  10. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok so where do I find how to downgrade my phone back to 2.0.1? I'm not having any luck, but then again I am slightly tired haha
     
  11. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    it's true rooting 2.1 is not necessary, there is a rooted 2.1 out there but you still have to flash the phone with rsd and for us mac users that basically means we are stuck until 2.1 is rooted, if that does happen.
     
  12. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't have to downgrade, you can simply use RSD Lite to flash SPRecovery, and load a rom from there, to give you root access.

    Here's where you can go: http://www.droid-life.com/page/3/
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  13. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, so I am having some issues that are actually really annoying.

    Well, it's only one. I keep getting this message using RSD Light...

    "Platform is not defined for CDMA_TYPE-OMAP_CHIPSET"

    and when I click start it says

    "Failed flashing process. Failed Flashing process. Unable to retrieve initialization values from INI File. (0x7029); phone connected"

    Any ideas on how to fix this! =[
     
  14. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I hear if you aren't running it through high speed usb ports it won't work. I tried on my old sony vaio and which doesn't have high speed usb and it failed.
     
  15. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok so i figured it out, you gotta use the 4.6 version. I got SPRecovery on there, now to get my rom =]
     
Search tags for this page
failed flashing process unable to retrieve
,

platform is not defined for cdma type-omap chipset