So sick of so slow!! Missing my iPhone

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by aharper, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. aharper
    Offline

    aharper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The iPhone comment was just to get views. :)

    But seriously, this phone (maxx hd) has become so slow that I'm starting to hate it. Unlocking is slow some times. It can literally take 3 - 5 seconds at times to open that app drawer after hitting the button. It's not this slow all the time but is *most* of the time anymore. My apps are a minimum, probably 20 or less. I used to have WidgetLocker and removed it thinking it could be part of the lag... no change.

    Three times I have had the device slow down so much that it took a solid 45 seconds or so just to close the screen (hit the lock button on the side and the screen goes black). On a side note, it's kinda cool how the screen shrinks when that happens, it's normally so fast that you can't tell it's actually shrinking when it goes black.

    Is there ANYTHING I can do to speed this thing up? OMG, it's SOOOOOOO frustrating to wait so long for things to work.

    Oh, and since I'm in vent mode... really sucks that Pandora and USA Today don't work. USA Today boot loops the phone every time I launch the app (so it's removed) and Pandora used to work great until late last week when it started saying "Unfortunately Pandora has stopped". I have removed, reinstalled, cleared cache, etc. Upon some investigation it seems I'm not the only one with the trouble but I admit, this phone is beginning to frustrate me.
  2. swharshbar
    Offline

    swharshbar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    State College, Pa
    Sucks, but I've got nothing but praise to say about this phone. I've had great battery life, apps run really good, and fast. Only complaint is the loss of FoxFi with Jelly bean but I'm sure that will be fixed.

    For your issues, it REALLY sounds like you need a factory reset. Then install the apps a few at a time to see which ones could be causing the issue. Also, take a look at "All Settings, then Developer options, then window animation scale (should be set to .5x), and the transition animation scale (should be set to .5x) and your Animator duration scale (again, should be set to .5x) settings. These settings seem to work really nice on my phone.

    Otherwise, you may have a dud.. and need a new phone. I've been extremely happy with my phone. Good luck.
  3. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Have you cleared cache on the phone? Power off the phone then:

    1. Press and hold the Volume Up/Down then press the Power button. When presented with the Boot Mode Selection Menu release all buttons. Press Volume Down to select Recovery then press Volume Up. From the Droid triage screen, simultaneously press Volume Up/Down.
    2. Select wipe cache then press the Power button.
    3. Restart device
    Also, is the the Maxx HD? And did you get the Jelly Bean update yet?
  4. aharper
    Offline

    aharper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I received the JB update, yes.

    I just cleared the cache just now, will post back after I have an idea of results.

    Sure hate to do a factory reset, reinstall apps, reapply all of my settings... ironically this is the exact reason I moved from my old Incredible to an iPhone in the first place.
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  5. jimmib
    Offline

    jimmib New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the "old" razr maxx and got the ZDtool app for utility...I love it...it lets me know how much is in my app caches and I just hit the button to clean...I love smart phones,but when you get older using apps and widgets to do your work is the only way to go...hope you get it going
  6. AirJunky
    Offline

    AirJunky New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine's not slow in the least, especially if I close all the apps once a day or so.
  7. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Also in developer settings, you can limit the number of background process to a smaller number, such as 4 or 3, and it will kill all other apps keeping only the last ones active. This really helps keep the memory usage down which in turn keeps the system running faster.
  8. kmf1
    Offline

    kmf1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    @YankInDaSouth...are there a few more steps (than you listed,) once the phone is powered down, to get to the "wipe the cache" option?
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    From Verizon (http://support.verizonwireless.com/clc/devices/knowledge_base.html?id=49625);


    (Modified by me for Clear Cache rather than Factory Reset)

    Alternate method
    1. Power the device off.
      [​IMG] Press the Power button then select Power off.
      [​IMG] If the device doesn't respond to input, press and hold the Volume Up/Down then press and hold Power button. When the device screen goes blank release the Power button while continuing to hold Volume Up/Down, proceed with step 3.
    2. Press and hold the Volume Up/Down then press the Power button.
    3. When presented with the Boot Mode Selection Menu release all buttons.
    4. Press Volume Down to select Recovery then press Volume Up.
    5. WAIT...this takes about 15 seconds and you'll first see the Motorola Logo, then have a black screen while waiting. Eventually you'll see the GREEN ANDROID on his back with a RED TRIANGLE and BLACK EXCLAMATION MARK (aka Droid triage screen).
    6. From the Droid triage screen, simultaneously press Volume Up/Down. (Note: for Jelly Bean, press and HOLD Volume Down, then press Volume Up - Thanks GoCliffGo05)
    7. Select wipe cache partition then press the Power button.
      [​IMG] Use Volume keys to navigate options.
    8. Once done, reboot system now should be highlighted.
      [​IMG] Simply press the Power button.
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
  10. Kaos2flo
    Offline

    Kaos2flo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    How is the phone now aharper?
  11. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Join the GN2 side!

    Return of the Android
  12. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,610
    Likes Received:
    822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    He ^ says with "Razr MAXX" in his profile! :rofl2:
  13. aharper
    Offline

    aharper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, it's certainly better. What I have done...

    wiped the cache
    set transitions to .5
    set background processes to a maximum of 4 (I just did this, can't speak to whether it will help yet)

    The screens are painting much faster than before. The cache wipe had the greatest impact. I appreciate the help!!!

    Andy
  14. motty69
    Offline

    motty69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    +1 Was in the process of backing things up to get ready for a factory reset to get rid of the lag I was seeing. These settings made a big difference (had already wiped cache).

    Sent from my RAZR MAXX HD
  15. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Whoops! Need to update lol.

    Return of the Android
  16. Captmilk
    Offline

    Captmilk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    I can finally say that I am thoroughly happy with the Maxx HD
  17. diablo81588
    Offline

    diablo81588 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not everyone wants a tablet phone. WAY too big for most people.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  18. Kaos2flo
    Offline

    Kaos2flo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    same^
  19. SpaceballOne
    Offline

    SpaceballOne New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm trying to perform this procedure, but I can't do anything once I get to the Triage screen. When I try step 6, nothing happens. Any ideas?
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2013
  20. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Step 6 differs a bit on JB. At that screen hold volume down and then press volume up.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
droid maxx running slow
,
droid razr m running slow
,

droid razr maxx running slow

,

droid razr running slow

,
droid razr slow
,
my droid razr is running slow
,
my droid razr is slow
,
my droid razr m is slow
,
razr maxx hd running slow
,
razr maxx slow
,
why is my droid razr m so slow
,

why is my droid razr maxx so slow

,
why is my droid razr slow
,

why is my droid razr so slow

,
why is my razr so slow