1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

so now that we can overclock.......

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jloya, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you think that people will built custom ROMS (and i dunno if you can set this in a theme) that are already overclocked? i.e when you load the ROM it will overclock the phone for you?
  2. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Not with a ROM (that I am aware of), but probably with a custom script. Hardly seems worth it though for a 10% increase.
  3. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow that was a fast reply lol .... I havent really seen a solid value to overclocking my phone but i was just curious about the possibility
  4. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    In my opinion there is no value to overclocking the phone from 1ghz to 1.1ghz, if the difference was bigger it would be great.

    I loved Ocíng my Droid 1 from 600mhz to 1.2ghz, made the phone scream.
  5. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what about slightly underclocking and lowering voltage (if possible?) would that make a decent increase in battery life?
  6. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    undervolting was on 2.1, and now since the source code is out, its only a matter of time.

    as for OCing, i also see no real benefit from 1Ghz to 1.1.
  7. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    with the source code out do you think custom kernals will be on there way as well?
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    overclocking with scripts yes but the bootloader is still locked down so no kernels
  9. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gotcha thanks
  10. Section Twelve
    Offline

    Section Twelve New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    I'd have to agree here.

    There is no real benefit to such a small overclock other than if you prefer to drain your system faster.
  11. pc747
    Online

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,048
    Likes Received:
    858
    Trophy Points:
    113
    they overclocked the dx to 1.45. On the d2 I am at 1250 (I scaled back from 1300, though 1300 worked good im testing a theory). Point being that extra 200 kick is a nice pickup. Yeah not as big of a jump from 600 to 1200 on the d1. But I think the d1 processor was actually meant to go that high. With Adw and less blur widgets 1250 is flying for me on the d2. I actually like the scripts idea, I mean I can edit and set my own ranges instead of rely on a kernel. I also dont have to worry bout bootloops because once it reboots it drops back to stock so you can try another combination of voltage and processing speeds.
  12. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    this post may be the one that gets me to try it on my phone lol
  13. jloya
    Offline

    jloya New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you do post your experiences/results!