So... new OTA is rolling out

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by pabtheghost, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what does this mean from the perspective of liberty users?

    we cant get the update without flashing back anyway, right?

    is that even worth it?

    im thinking probably just sit and wait for whenever the next liberty drops
  2. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Your best off just waiting for the next Liberty build to come out with the OTA Changes in it (in my opinion), b/c yes you'll have to revert back to stock to accept it. And also I'm not sure if the OTA has been confirmed to be rootable? So keep that in mind as well, you never know when Moto will slip a fix into the build.

    Chances are the Liberty Devs are already working on some tweaks from the OTA already. :)

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
  3. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool. thats kinda what i figured, but definitely glad to have it confirmed. thanks
  4. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're gonna want to take the OTA or the leak as the kernel and basebands are updated.
    With a locked bootloader, devs won't touch those aspects of the phone.
    The .886 software works with the new kernel and baseband, but we can't be sure if the .893 software will work with the old kernel and baseband.


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
    1 person likes this.
  5. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Oh derp forgot about the kernel updates and all. :/ Has it been confirmed that the OTA is rootable though? I heard Bionic users had issues with the last OTA that left them w/out root when moto fixed the patch
  6. Anathema
    Offline

    Anathema New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When the OTA is available for my phone I will be removing root and will let the forum know if you can still root after the update or not. 2 others have already stated that they achieved root using the method stickied in the forum.
  7. wooddale
    Offline

    wooddale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    So whats the consensus do we go back to stock foreveroot get the OTA then come back or just wait for devs. Im sure there is someone who downloaded a leak and can still use this Rom I think it even said that somewhere.
  8. dags5000
    Offline

    dags5000 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u haven't applied any if the leaks. U simply restore to.factory stock. Then apply the 5.5.893 update in stock recovery. U can do it now without waiting. The leak is identical to what the official one is so just google search and you will find it.
    Before applying it, root and forever root. Then apply. Now.u are on 5.5.893 kernel and all and u still have root. From there u can reload and custom rims u want
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. shakyone
    Offline

    shakyone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can confirm, if you don't root prior, it does remove Pete's method of rooting, from the Droid 3 tool. Now I need to do a little research, and see what I want to do. I want the rooted droid back, but with the latest kernal.

    I may try and reflash via RSD lite to 886, then root, and install update, but I would like to avoid that method...
  10. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    let me get a few things clear before i get started:

    i can just hit factory reset in bootstrap recovery?

    do i need to wipe any data before i reset to stock?

    how do i get forever root?
  11. wooddale
    Offline

    wooddale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Yes you can do reset in recovery. yes you do need to wipe cache and delvik. here is forever root Droid Bionic » -Maintain Root Through any Update (Bionic) with Forever Root! but you better do some reading first or your gonna need this http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...70-r3l3as3droot-43v3r-root-bionic-v2-1-a.html
  12. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. shakyone
    Offline

    shakyone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still rooted, but Liberty Failed

    I ended up reflashing 886, then rooted and 4ever rooted. Updated to 893, then installed Liberty ROM, which failed to install.

    Repeated the above a second time, following the method I used to install Liberty ROM the first time I got it to work. It failed again.

    Now I'm stuck with a rooted 893 build, and I uninstalled most of the bloatware. It is acceptable, but I really liked the Liberty ROM. I hope something changes that improves compatibility.
    1 person likes this.
  14. RK KINGKONG
    Offline

    RK KINGKONG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    JERSEY,PATERSON
    im having the same issue used 4ever root , went back in time to factory reset .. rooted the phone again then got the 893 update managing to keep root throughout the update .... however now everytime i try to install liberty i wind up in a boot loop no matter how i try to install liberty / any info how to go about it or do we the Liberated have to wait for a update to the Liberty for the new893 ??????
  15. wooddale
    Offline

    wooddale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Ok here is my story I went back to my foreveroot backup flashed OTA came back to th3ory was in safestrap flashinf ICS got a BSOD had to fast boot recover to get back to stock ckd OTA was avaiable but didnt take thought it was to lagy and came back to Liberty and here Iam my phone says 5.5.886. Im gonna stay here for awhile can go back ant=y time and get OTA I herd there gona change it anyway
  16. RK KINGKONG
    Offline

    RK KINGKONG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    JERSEY,PATERSON
    well i have the update even after having to factory reset with 4ever root 5 x lol ... however its when i try to install liberty back that i get stuck in boot loop .... so im just rooted & updated at the moment ... not sure if i have to deodex then flash but im sure all this stuff needs to be updated to work with the new update .. my Guess im assuming since nothing im doing is working .. thanks for the reply
  17. shakyone
    Offline

    shakyone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bootlooping, I forgot that part...

    KingKong, you stated it even more accurately, I kept the root through the stock update to 893. When I installed Liberty, I was stuck in a boot loop on the "Dual-core" splash-screen. I never got the bionic eyeball animation.

    I had to AP Fastboot restore using the "R3l3As3Droot and 43V3R Root" from here: Droid Bionic » -Unbrick Bionic with OneClick Restore “R3l3As3Droot and 43V3R Root” 10/28/11

    I really hope I can get back to Liberty3. I was pretty happy with it.

    If you stumbled upon this post, I thought I might share some of recovery methods I utilized following my multiple brickings of varying degrees last week.

    I inadvertently wiped the docking station partition in Nandroid. Don't do that, it gets you stuck in a APFastboot only situation. and "R3l3As3Droot and 43V3R Root" doesn't work there. It kept failing. I will try and post, when I have my tools on hand to report that fix.

    This is one alternative to R3l3As3Droot and 43V3R Root, it uses RSD Lite.

    Unbrick Factory Reset Droid Bionic with Fast Boot and FXZ Tutorial Guide - YouTube here it is with howto example on Youtube. It worked.a couple times.

    I found another recovery method that works even better, when you really screw it up. I need to figure out which one it was. I saved the webpage on another PC. I will update this post with the answer.

    [Update] Here it is: http://bit.ly/uftzbd
    Remember to start the command prompt as an administrator, you can do the Ctl+Shift thing, or search the start menu for cmd then right-click and "run as administrator." It installs the grfs.img and system.img back to stock/default. It fixes the webtop partition too. I got lucky I found it.
    1 person likes this.
  18. shakyone
    Offline

    shakyone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just another suggestion, while we wait for a better Liberty3, install Titanium backup, and un-install all the bloatware. It makes the phone tolerable in the interim. Here is a guide to what is safe from a Droid 3 post: Droid 3: Apps That Are Safe To Remove Once Rooted - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
    And another from a Bionic post: Droid Bionic: Apps That Are Safe To Remove Once Rooted - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
  19. RK KINGKONG
    Offline

    RK KINGKONG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    JERSEY,PATERSON
    Im good updated and rooted just no Liberty 3 / also wondering about deodex for update period will it be needed to reinstall liberty hopefully someone will figure this out.thanks for the reply

    Droid Bionic / Tapatalk
  20. safety
    Offline

    safety New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using liberty v2 gold right now after the update. Here were my steps:

    1. Nandroid backup liberty v2 gold
    2. Fastboot to stock recovery
    3. Root and forever root
    4. OTA update
    5. Restore liberty from backup after data and dalvik wipe through CWM

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk