So many ROMs...could someone provide recommendation?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by grimloktt, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. grimloktt

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there's tons of information out there but my eyes are starting to go crossed looking at everything. I was wondering if I identified the things that I was looking for in a custom ROM if one of you smart guys/gals could provide a recommendation...and maybe a couple pros and cons?

    Here are the things I'm looking for:
    - FROYO 2.2 (will I be able to use all existing 2.1 apps?)
    - I'm going to use Sweeter Home home launcher
    - I want it stable.
    - I want everything to work: marketplace, wifi, etc. I read reviews that some FROYO ROMS items didn't work.
    - Apps2SD
    - I want it to run at the right temperature with consideration that it'll be in a case and maybe in my pocket

    What is the best way to batch re-install my apps?

    As of right now, my DROID runs at an average speed, i.e. it lags when opening, closing, changing screens, etc...probably due to the extra drag of Sweeter Home + all the apps I have on it. I'd like it to be snappy.

    Thnx!
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  2. punyweakling

    punyweakling Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unsure of ROMS man, but from a Sweeter Home perspective it runs great on 2.2 thanks to JIT. So if you can get a good stable ROM SH should be fine.
     
  3. Rsswga

    Rsswga Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love my ultimate Droid 3.5.0
     
  4. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's in my sig... Also CyanogenMod 6 and Sapphire 0.8.4 are good as well.
     
  5. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think at this point all these top roms are very stable an have all those features. I would just pick a theme that you like an use a rom that works with it.
     
  6. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try several, see what works best for YOU. ROMs are all user preference.
     
  7. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1

    (10 Char.)
     
  8. grimloktt

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. ladodger1717

    ladodger1717 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My recommendation is Bugless Beast .4, soon BB .5. His ROMs have always seem to run the best for me. Quick and very stable. I have noticed that Ultimate Droid slows down my phone a bit. Sapphire .8 is also good but a little feature dry right now. Kangerade 5.0.9 is also a great ROM. Like someone else said. There are a lot of good stable ROMs out there now. I would recommend using ROM Manager because it is extremely easy to use. Just make sure you flash the recovery a couple times. If you want to use the SPRecovery you currently have now, you will need to find the ROM, Download it and transfer it to the root your SD card labeled "Update.zip" (basically "Update" because the file should be in zip format). Then wipe data/cache and wipe cache three times. After that choose install from SD card and find it and install it.
     
  10. grimloktt

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. Great rundown. At what point and what is the best way to re-load all my apps? I'd like to load them apps2SD if possible. I'd like to do it in batch format, too.
     
  11. ladodger1717

    ladodger1717 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download titanium backup from the market. Backup up your apps using that. You can then reinstall titanium backup when you have your new ROM. I am not sure about moving all apps to the SD card in a batch. Just make sure you don't put apps with Widgets on the SD card if you plan to use them. The Widgets will not work.
     
  12. 713King

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +1
    Titanium backup is good but another good one that is simple to use and saves your call logs, txt, apps and home features. Its called Mybackup Pro it is very noob friendly, i think Titanium is a little complicated
     
  13. grimloktt

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK. I took the plunge with BB. I read that it was supposed to install apps2sd by default but they look like they're not there?

    I also lost my Astrid tasks...are they on my sd card anywhere?

    So far so good...my DROID automatically downloaded all programs. I had the backup cloud checked in settings. Is there where they came from?
     
  14. Kinfolk_Thuggin

    Kinfolk_Thuggin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your Astrid tasks are probably gone. If you wiped your phone before you installed BB it would have removed any of your user data.
     
  15. grimloktt

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thnx! Is there any way to save that stuff for "next time?" I thought it was going to be backed up with the app data backup...

    You guys are great. Thnx for all the help!