So many bugs.

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by cmcguffee, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. cmcguffee

    cmcguffee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok, let's start this, I was running 902 with TargaMIUI on my safe system side. I heard the 905 update fixed radio problems so I disabled safe system, used voodoo to backup and temp unroot, updated and **** happened. I got my root back on fine, but after a few boits noticed no more safestrap splash screen. Easy fix, I just reinstalled. I started noticing a lot of stuff I hated about the update, serious bugs. The gallery not opening bug got way worse, I magically lost 3gb of internal storage making downloads impossible, couldn't switch on safe system even, because it had limited me to 7mb of available space. So I didn't feel like restarting and just restored back to 902 in safestrap. I thought "problem solved". No. I start off with safe system on, it's stuck in a boot loop though now. I decide to turn off safesystem....not enough available internal storage. So I push myself through the quick toggle safe system. My phone boots. I start using it and notice that my stock firmware doesn't have gapps. I didn't think that was even possible? I tried simply installing the Play Store manually since it wasn't full gapps missing just everything I actually use. I install it and the icon appears, but it force closes on start up. I won't even attempt asking the ****ty Moto customer service for help, so android community, help me please.:(
     
  2. justin82

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,689
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +214
    Factory reset start clean . If u need to back up internal sd card and sbf to 902 take ota to 905 . Thenn root. That's what I did 0 problems.. Heard safe strap causes issues
     
  3. cmcguffee

    cmcguffee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks man, I'm still pissed at Motorola though. They're making this **** more difficult for no reason.
     
  4. z96Cobra

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Exactly how is Motorola at fault here? You're modding your phone in ways it was never intended. If you're going to mod/hack/play around, you're going to have the occasional issue pop up. Luckily, it's darn near impossible to brick these phones.
     
  5. cmcguffee

    cmcguffee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I accept the responsibility that we all take when we mod our phones, but I'm saying Motorola has done stuff that really just makes everything far more difficult. I mean was there really any gain for them from using military grade locking on the boot loader? No, it just makes dev's jobs way harder. Also, one reason main reason I'm modding is that I want that ics we've all had teasing us from every other companies phones. Lastly, I was running stock when I encountered the bugs. I was pretty freshly updated on the 905 update and I hadn't even done anything with the root when things started. The bugs pretty much forced me to rom my phone. I'm just mad at how many hopes Motorola has crushed with this phone. They aren't letting it get to its full potential, and they're blocking the devs from it as well.
     
  6. matthew2478

    matthew2478 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    People blame Motorola when its Verizon locking the bootloader. Moto has nothing to do with the locked boot loader.
     
  7. matthew2478

    matthew2478 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And by the way safe strap uses a lot of memory I just found when I did the pics leak that safe strap it self was using 8 gigs of memory on what was saved
     
  8. matthew2478

    matthew2478 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ics to be corrected when I said pics
     
  9. nobreak1970

    nobreak1970 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What hopes are crushed? We are getting a kick ass ICS upgrade. No hopes crushed for me. :)
    The only thing the devs cannot do because of the locked bootloader is use custom kernels in their roms.
     
  10. cmcguffee

    cmcguffee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ya I'm looking into redoing a bunch of stuff on my phone when I get my ram for my computer I gotta edit some zips too so I might swell knock all of it out at once and I think my safe strap is using like 5gb but that's all it had available
     
Search tags for this page

why android has so many bugs

,
why does android have so many bugs
,
why so many bugs with android