So long gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by otter34, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, too many bugs w/ Gingerbread in general. I've been trying it out since the first ROM was release. I've had issues w/ all gingerbread roms I've tried and understand that sometimes software isn't compatible yet, developers aren't up to speed and those problems I can deal with. I can't deal w/ problems w/ the camera or phone or google maps-core apps. I've tried PE, all of liquids gingerbread, BB, CM, Chevy and the list goes on. Yes I followed all install instructions to a t, wiping 10,000 times, formatting boot, letting the market update itself, not restoring w/ titanium etc, etc

    Today I had major issues at the worst possible times. I was using liquid's latest gingerbread and I was driving and maps/navigation was a pain but I was lost in a bad area and needed an escape route immediately! On top of that I had 2 emergency situations where I needed to answer the call but there was no way to answer! No slider, nothing. That's when I realized it's time for something that's stable and I almost considered unrooting....but then realized I might as well just go back to froyo

    I appreciate all the support in these forums. Unfortunately gingy just ain't ready for my droid.
  2. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    Try the latest CM7 nightly build #38. I've had it for a few days now and now its my every day ROM. Its extremely stable.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. fatcharlie
    Offline

    fatcharlie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last cm7 build I tried was winner's #36, does build #38 fix the data issues? I take the subway and use an underground garage and toggling airplane mode was driving me crazy. I'm back to Sapphire 2.0.2 because it is as stable as you get, but it ain't gingerbread.
  4. jessemhess
    Offline

    jessemhess Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your not the only one. GB was not ever meant to run on the Droid 1. I have also reverted back to Froyo and have been enjoying a bug free phone. I am currently using Project Gimp Source. Gimp is one of few that is still doing Froyo projects. I highly suggest you check Gimp out. He is in the process of having a new Froyo release soon.
  5. fatcharlie
    Offline

    fatcharlie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I know it wasn't meant for the old droid but I keep holding out hope that cvpcs or someone will figure out a fix for data. I love showing people gb's screen off effect. Thanks for the tip on Gimp I will check it out.
  6. skruid
    Offline

    skruid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using liquids latest build and haven't had any problems

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    What is the data issue?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. fatcharlie
    Offline

    fatcharlie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My probelm is that if you lose data because you're out of range, like you go underground on subway/garage, when you are back in range it will look like your data has come back but your bars don't turn green (meaning you're connected to google) and data doesn't work. You then have to toggle airplane mode to get data to work and connect to google. So I go into my garage, lose signal, get my navigation set up, leave garage, regain signal, and then have to airplane toggle whilst driving to get data back. Not ideal. It only affects people who lose signal frequently so I doubt it will ever get fixed. I've tried several cm7 builds and pete alfonso's GPA builds and it happens with both of them. Maybe I'll give Liquid a try like a previous poster suggested.
  9. HIFI
    Offline

    HIFI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm glad I am not alone in going back to froyo.
  10. Oxymoron
    Offline

    Oxymoron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    These must be those instances that prove no two droids are alike. I am having no issues whatsoever with SS 5.2. In fact, my phone has never been so stable. Running it with Chevy's 1.1 Ghz kernel.

    Have you tried different kernels? I've gotten almost every ROM to run pretty stable just by swapping out kernels until I found the right one.

    In any case, hope you get sorted out, even if you have to go back to Froyo. Buggy phones are a pain in the heiny. Happy androiding.

    *customized tapatalk signature*
  11. otter34
    Offline

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, no I haven't tried different kernels except for once. Damn it now I'm thinking about giving it another shot. Ugh, having to reset all the alerts, widgets...grrr
  12. adamrobles
    Offline

    adamrobles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy 5.2

    I was almost ready to go back to Froyo until I read this post

    I have been having a ton of issues with Chevy 5.2:
    Random Reboots
    Maps not staying open, just auto closes when I start searching

    Oxymoron - Which 1.1 kernel did you use? Ultra Low Voltage/Low Voltage/Medium Voltage?

    I am going to try a few different kernels before I go back to froyo.
  13. fatcharlie
    Offline

    fatcharlie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the deprimed kernel on cm7 and I used the slayher kernel and pete's new kernel on the GPA roms, none automatically picked up data after loss of connection. Maybe my droid just doesn't like gb. When I get some downtime I will try Liquid.
  14. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ss 5.2 with 800mhz lv makes my droid run soooooooo much better then it ever has

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  15. adamrobles
    Offline

    adamrobles New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    kernel

    It seemed to have something to do with the Ultra Low voltage Kernel. I have been using the Medium Voltage kernel since my last post and havnt had any issues with using maps or anything else.
Search tags for this page
gingerbread auto sync takes too long
,

gingerbreak so long

,

gingerbreak taking too long

,
gingerbreak taking too long droid x2
,

why does gingerbreak take so long

,
why is gingerbreak taking so long on droid x2
,
why's gingerbreak take so long