So, is my Turbo's wifi on... or off?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by CerroTorre, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. CerroTorre

    CerroTorre New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was checking my Turbo's battery performance today and noticed a strange thing. I knew that in the time since turning it on today, I had only turned wifi on for a short bit. I am very good at keeping wifi off unless necessary. However when checking the battery stats, it says wifi has been on the whole time.

    So here's my home screen today at 4:16EST. Note that wifi is off (seemingly):
    screen1.jpg

    Looking at the wifi control screen, it is off:
    screen2.jpg

    But look at the battery stats, saying that the phone has been on battery for 7h 2m 46sec, and wifi ate 16%:
    screen3.jpg

    Tap on the wifi stat, and it says wifi has been on the whole time, including when these screenshots were taken:
    screen4.jpg

    So, how is it possible that even though I have turned off wifi and no indicator says its on, yet it is eating lots of battery and Android thinks it has been on all the time? Am I misunderstanding the displays or something?
     
  2. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +471
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Go to you WiFi settings.

    [​IMG]

    Click on the three dots and select Advanced. Is 'Scanning always available' check?

    [​IMG]

    If it is, uncheck it. Keeping this enabled allows Android to scan and report even though you have turned WiFi off.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. CerroTorre

    CerroTorre New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    That was it. Never would have found that, thanks GreneFroggie!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +471
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    I believe they added that in 4.0, but it was noticed immediately.

    It took me a while to remember to do it when I flash.
     
  5. Pologuy

    Pologuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +19
    OK, a few questions :)

    Does WiFi use more of your battery than just leaving it on 4G?

    What exactly did what you just did above do?

    :)
     
  6. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +471
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    When you are not connected to WiFi, your phone uses your 4G. At the same time, the WiFi is scanning for networks every 90 seconds. This scan consumes power. For this reason we turn off WiFi when we aren't using it to save some battery life.

    With that being said, when you turn WiFi off you would expect it to really be off. But it isn't. By default, 'Scanning always available' is enabled, allowing Google's location services to better assist you with your location. Nice, but it still eats battery life and allows Google to track you.

    So we turned that "feature" off.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    2,105
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,485
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    WiFi consumes less battery than your 4G radio. It doesn't make sense to use both however so whichever one I am using toggles the other one off using MacroDroid.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +471
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    I am sensing MacroDroid is a fav.
     
  9. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    2,105
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,485
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    I really tried to like Tasker. It can be tough to program it though.

    MacroDroid is far easier and is constantly being improved by the dev.
     
  10. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    405
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +471
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    Got ya!! I used to use Tasker. Not much need for it any more.
     
  11. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    2,105
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,485
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    I use it to stay out of the settings app. Wifi, Bluetooth, cellular data, etc. I also use it as an app launcher and to skip songs using my volume keys when my screen is off, launch my music when the headphones are plugged in. So on and so forth.
     
  12. fic1

    fic1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    H
     
Search tags for this page

droid turbo what is my wifi recieving

,

droid turbo wifi shut off

,

turbo wifi android

,

use wifi or net at a time