So is everyone unlocked and rooted now?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR HD' started by PereDroid, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    You should be.
     
  2. lloydsw

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Well I thought I was, now I'm not sure. Sometime yesterday the apps that normally ask for root either stopped asking or lock up when I run them.. I originally rooted from towel root. Yesterday I tried flashing root thru TWRP. Still not sure how or if it is working.
     
  3. lloydsw

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Finally got it fixed, not sure which of my attempts were successful, but I can now confirm root. Whew!
     
  4. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    If your bootloader is unlocked.... Never fear you have lost root. Even if you have to factory reset or use rsd there is always a method.

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
  6. lloydsw

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    So out of curiosity - now that I'm unlocked, can I load a romI previously used with safestrap or is the fact that they were JB based going to cause a problem?
     
  7. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    A) If you installed a CUSTOM RECOVERY you don't NEED to use SafeStrap anymore.
    B) Pretty sure you can. Not 100% though. Are you on DroidRZR.com? That would be the best place to ask.
     
  8. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    Just posted your question over there in case you aren't. Standby.
     
  9. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    you have to flash back to JB to flash a JB based rom or it will bootloop.
    as far as flashing a safestrap rom in custom recovery, i cant say for sure.
    the most feature filled roms will be cwm/twrp flash, so its kinda pointless to flash a ss rom unless you just want stock based stuff.
     
  10. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    btw,
    unlock NOW!! before the official update starts rolling out soon.
    it is CONFIRMED to patch the bootloader exploit.
     
  11. lloydsw

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yeah, that's how I knew Nexesque KK wasn't ready for prime time. :D
     
Search tags for this page

towelroot gs5 unlock custom logo