So is everyone unlocked and rooted now?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR HD' started by PereDroid, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    You should be.
  2. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well I thought I was, now I'm not sure. Sometime yesterday the apps that normally ask for root either stopped asking or lock up when I run them.. I originally rooted from towel root. Yesterday I tried flashing root thru TWRP. Still not sure how or if it is working.
  3. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Finally got it fixed, not sure which of my attempts were successful, but I can now confirm root. Whew!
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    If your bootloader is unlocked.... Never fear you have lost root. Even if you have to factory reset or use rsd there is always a method.

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
    Enrique2SIM likes this.
  5. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
  6. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So out of curiosity - now that I'm unlocked, can I load a romI previously used with safestrap or is the fact that they were JB based going to cause a problem?
  7. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    A) If you installed a CUSTOM RECOVERY you don't NEED to use SafeStrap anymore.
    B) Pretty sure you can. Not 100% though. Are you on DroidRZR.com? That would be the best place to ask.
  8. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Just posted your question over there in case you aren't. Standby.
  9. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you have to flash back to JB to flash a JB based rom or it will bootloop.
    as far as flashing a safestrap rom in custom recovery, i cant say for sure.
    the most feature filled roms will be cwm/twrp flash, so its kinda pointless to flash a ss rom unless you just want stock based stuff.
  10. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    btw,
    unlock NOW!! before the official update starts rolling out soon.
    it is CONFIRMED to patch the bootloader exploit.
  11. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah, that's how I knew Nexesque KK wasn't ready for prime time. :D
Search tags for this page

towelroot gs5 unlock custom logo