1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

So I'm attempting to root my droid...

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by mickylxxx, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using this guide that Moto made: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html

    Anyway, when I get to the point where this should happen:[​IMG]

    Instead of installing, it says:

    E:Cant mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    (No such file or directory)
    E:Cant mount SDCARD:update.zip
    Installation aborted.




    I left some out, but that's mostly what it says. What am I doing wrong? I put the update.zip into the SD card and named it update. Should I be putting it into a certain folder?
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    did you put the file on the root of your sdcard and rename it update.zip (update for windows 7)
  3. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I had trouble with, and I'm probably going to look like the biggest idiot.. but where's the root located? Haha.
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That means it does not go in any folders.
  5. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I did. I didn't put it in any folders, just put the zip file on it as "update.zip"
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    and you clicked allow update.zip installation, then install/sdcard/ update.zip
  7. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's correct.
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    if yyou already flashed the sbf then you should have sprecovery, and if you have that you can install a 2.2 based rom or the rooted 2.2 stock image
  9. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you direct me to where I can install a rom from? Sorry.. I'm way too new at this.
  10. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You not still in recovery mode are you.
  12. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I'm not in recovery. I'll give it a try really quick.
  13. mickylxxx
    Offline

    mickylxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think my Droid is rooted though?
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    If you rebooted again you will have to start motocacache's steps from the part where you flash SPR. You need to catch the reboot and hold up to get back into the bootloader get the "Pass" then reboot directly into recovery and install the update.zip.

    Also make sure the file is named update.zip, not update.zip.zip

    Sent from a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away
  15. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Once you have Spr on, you install the update, this will root you


    Sent from a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away