1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

So I want to learn to develop for Android...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by fichdak, Jun 26, 2010.

1. fichdak

fichdak New Member

This is me: college kid, no developing experience whatsoever (unless you could a basic HTML course in like 9th grade... lol), relatively intelligent, interested in technology.

What do I need to learn?

I found a "java 101" article to read here: Learn Java from the ground up - JavaWorld

Is android just Java or is there any other kind of language..? I've heard something about C++? or is that part of Java?

As you can tell, I'm a noob lol.

Then I read that I need Eclipse (what does that do again?), which one should I get (I'm on a Mac): Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers, Eclipse IDE for Java Developers, or Eclipse Classic 3.6?

Is this a bad idea considering I know nothing? Like am in way over my head?

Any other ideas or links anyone can share?

Thanks for the help!
  2. Johnly

Johnly Guest

What you are about to do could last a lifetime! Congratulations! I have found dev forums like XDA to be rich with info....good luck, and make us an killer app huh?
  3. stonedoubt

stonedoubt New Member

I recommend buying a subscription to CommonsWare because it's basically 4 books in PDF format that start from the basics and go all the way to advanced. A single book costs as much as that subscription. Java is not C++.
  4. woodyman

woodyman New Member Developer

it takes time, and its tricky at first, but it gets easier as you learn more.. :) good luck.!!

but, what kind of Development do you want to get into.? building ROMs, apps, Themes?
  5. neubanks89

neubanks89 New Member