1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

So I rooted last night

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Nickmast, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. Nickmast
    Offline

    Nickmast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I rooted last night using Sholesmod, installed Bugless Beast, installed SetCPU. All is well. Now I'm at a loss for what I want to do next. I have read through a lot of stuff today and still can't decide on what I want to do next. Looked into Metamorph, possibility, but I need to install other things first. So I download DroidRootHelper for busybox, etc. I open up droidroothelper and im lost. Look around all over for help on installing and the stuff I have read is either confusing to me, or incomplete. So I'm at a standstill. I want to move forward on metamorph but i'm also looking for other things that I can do as well.

    Any help on droidroothelper/ metamorph?
    Suggestions for other fun things for rooted droids?

    All I'm doing now is reading as much as I can as well as trying to comprehend what I'm reading.
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    You shouldn't need Droidroothelper for Metamorph....just download Metamorph from the Market and then download Andexplorer.....

    Then follow directions about Metamorph at the xda forums
  3. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    you need to install BusyBox to use Metamorph and Droid Root HELPER is the one stop EASY way of doing that. who wants to type into terminal
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    when you can just press a button

    -=Jason=-

    to install busybox
    open DRH and scroll down to Installs
    click on Install and chmod Busybox(installs to /system/bin)
    click on Install and chmod flash_image(busybox must be installed first)
  4. Nickmast
    Offline

    Nickmast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I got that far and then opened up Metamorph, Start Checks and it says "Some Files Could Not Be Extracted and Set Up. Make sure you have enough space and busybox is installed."
  5. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    taken from alldroid.org
    AllDroid - View topic - Metamorph settup file error

    -=Jason=-
  6. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have bugless beast or beauty installed then busybox is already loaded on your phone so no worries about that...
  7. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I only have droid rootPRO but its all about the same. You have to:
    1)Mount /system RW
    2)install & chmod flash_image
    3)install & chmod busybox
    4)flash SPRecovery (whichever the latest one is)
    5)rename recovery.from.boot.p to "".old
    6)sync
    7)Mount /system Read Only
    8)Youre done :)

    I say might as well try out 2.1 with nexus livewallpaper working :) i have it as mine and its awesome lol
  8. Nickmast
    Offline

    Nickmast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did that with terminal and I got this-

    link failed file Exists

    I opened up And Explorer and opened up the system folder and busybox and cp are there.
    Still getting the same error with Metamorph when doing a check.
  9. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so how do i check to see if i installed busybox correctly