So I pressed the factory reset button...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by weavdaddy, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. weavdaddy
    Offline

    weavdaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron OH
    ...and now when I turn on my D2 it says it needs to activate. Can I still root it? (btw it is not my active phone, just got a gs3)
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yes. You should be able to root it without it being active. Just won't be able to make calls and send texts with it.

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_NEXUS 7
  3. weavdaddy
    Offline

    weavdaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron OH
    Well it was no longer active on the vzw network anyhow. Problem is, I had little clue where to start rooting before...now I'm really screwed! o_O
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You can still root it. I am out of the loop as to the current methods for it though. What system version are you on?

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_NEXUS 7
  5. weavdaddy
    Offline

    weavdaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron OH
    I don't know how to find that with the phone in it's current state. All it will do is ask to be activated or turn off.
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    OK. While on the activation screen, starting at the top left, touch each corner in a clock wise pattern. This should get you passed the screen.

    Its a little tricky so if you don't get it just keep trying. Also, you can look for a video on how to do it if my description does not make sense, its hard to envision when reading a description.

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  7. weavdaddy
    Offline

    weavdaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron OH
    You're the man!!!

    Okay, system version is 4.5.621.A955.Verizon.en.US

    Android version is 2.3.4

    So now I should be able to follow one of the tutorials?
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    You should be able to. I am not sure what the exact methods are for it currently but if you are having issues finding the right info I can try and help you find it later on when I get home. It may be late though.
  9. andyc
    Offline

    andyc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    Unless someone's figured this out in the last month or two, Droid 2 running 2.3.4 - 4.5.621 cannot be rooted due to a new bootloader being installed with the most recent update, nor can it be flashed back to previous versions to achieve root that way.

    Ive been running GB triple threat since it was released last year and had grand plans to try out cyanogen and/or steel droid, but after sbf-ing back to froyo and allowing the ota to GB, I made the mistake of allowing a second OTA to d/l and install. Alas, no more custom roms or root. Looks like I'll be getting a phone upgrade sooner than I anticipated.

    The 'touch each corner clockwise to get past activation' thing is a neat trick though. I didn't know that one
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Wasn't sure honestly, being out of the loop I could not say definitively if it has been rooted or not. That answers that.

    And glad you like that little trick :)
  11. MissionImprobable
    Offline

    MissionImprobable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
  13. MissionImprobable
    Offline

    MissionImprobable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hah, I figured as much. I wouldn't have even gone into the section to look if I weren't on the D2 and knew the method had come out. Between here, Rootz, and XDA, not to mention all my other ventures I get overwhelmed as well. Luckily we're all here to help one another.:happy3:
Search tags for this page
akron factory reset
,

droid 2 r2d2 factory reset

,
how to activate verizon motorola a957 r2d2 hard reset
,
how to factory reset droid a957
,
how to reset a droid r2d2
,
motorola a955 restore
,
reset button for droid 2
,
reset motorola a957