So I just tried to use foxfi...

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by adrenalinemotion, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. adrenalinemotion
    Offline

    adrenalinemotion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    First off, I don't tether often and when I do, I don't use crazy amounts of data



    I fired up foxfi on my razr HD at my girlfriend's house because her internet wasn't working. A window popped up on the foxfi screen that said "checking subscription status" then it kicked me to screen that said that there was some kind of error in my subscription and gave me two number to call, business and consumer. I could only assume they were Verizon numbers, so I googled one and sure enough, Verizon must have blocked my wifi tether.



    anyone else running into this?

    Edit: I should add that I'm on the "OTA" jelly bean leak
     
  2. skier8735
    Offline

    skier8735 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to the Foxfi site Jelly Bean for the HD is not yet supported.
     
  3. vaclon
    Offline

    vaclon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    From my experience its been disabled for jellybean, Bluetooth DUN seems to work for the majority of apps though with the notable exception of gmail.
     
  4. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    165
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +174
    I believe Foxfi no longer works for wifi on any phone running JB.
     
  5. 2001400ex
    Offline

    2001400ex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I confirm the same, foxfi doesn't work.
     
  6. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +334
    Lol so many if these threads popping up. It says right on the foxfi site that it will not work on the HD with JB.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  7. frstsaxman
    Offline

    frstsaxman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so is there an alternative wifi tethering app?

    so is there an alternative wifi tethering app for a droid razr hd running JB?
     
  8. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
  9. frstsaxman
    Offline

    frstsaxman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what if im not rooted?

    I noticed there were more choices for rooted users. But I dont plan on rooting just for this.
    I saw some other apps but some of the reviews just said that they used you phone built in hotspot feature which I dont want to pay for.

    Thanks
     
  10. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    As far as I know, FoxFi was the only non root true wireless tether app out there.
     
  11. bkdodger
    Offline

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,878
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +910
    Foxfi worked when I had the Max HD and it works now on the Note 2..

    《Take Note2 BK's here..》
     
  12. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    On ICS builds right? Don't think it works on Jelly Bean.
     
  13. bkdodger
    Offline

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,878
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +910
    I'm on JB now.. But on the Maxx it was ICS..

    《Take Note2 BK's here..》
     
  14. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I "think" I can use foxfi but whenever I start it up, it would give me a number to call to have the hotspot plan on my account. Yes, I am on Jellybean.
     
  15. MrHaViK
    Offline

    MrHaViK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this a confirmed bug with VZW/Motorola JB update

    i've tried foxfi, wifi tether for root users, and the stock VZW tethering app, none of them work. They all say they are working fine but no devices i use can see the hotspot. I haven't found anything official stating that this is a bug, can anyone confirm that it works using any method?
     
Search tags for this page
checking subscription status foxfi
,
does foxfi use data
,

foxfi alternative

,
foxfi alternative for jelly bean
,

foxfi checking subscription status

,
foxfi how to use
,
foxfi subscription
,
foxfi subscription status
,
how do i use foxfi
,

how to use foxfi