So i have pdanet now....

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by itwerk, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. itwerk
    Offline

    itwerk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you allow other people to use your connection? I am using my macbook right now with my droid's 3g but it has to be connected via usb? is there a way to connect it wirelessly? thanks in advance for any tips
  2. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,274
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I'm not certain as my laptops don't have it, but doesn't PDAnet have the option to connect with BT? If so, then I'd assume someone else with BT could also connect. I'm certain about BT properties though.
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    there is a way but you have to be rooted
  4. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most current roms have wireless tether included. But like JCo352 said, you have to be rooted.
  5. anewday
    Offline

    anewday New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I thought pdanet works with bluetooth without rooting?
  6. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Can you set up your Mac to be an ad hoc network?
  7. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    When you go to turn it on for the first time on the phone it says you have to set up something on your computer, that will do the trick
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It Does..........
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Not with PDAnet...No Root required.
  10. Jzaga053
    Offline

    Jzaga053 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry to hack but ive been using my droid and macbook pro with usb tethering but am worried about the monthly 5gb limit... anyone else worried about that?

    surprisingly, the interconnection is mad fast!
  11. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    There is no "5gb limit" for your droid. There is a 5gig limit for a VZW broadband plan, however. And since tethering your droid violates your contract, you may well hear from Verizon if you routinely exceed what VZW considers to be a reasonable download quota for a phone.
  12. Jzaga053
    Offline

    Jzaga053 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ohhh ok. i misread something then. i dont do it often though, just once every week or so to look on news, ebay. im pretty weary about going to youtube, etc
  13. Fox100
    Offline

    Fox100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PDAnet works with BT, but i think that's only with the paid version. The free version is for USB tehering i believe..
  14. armccrum
    Offline

    armccrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You say there is no root required, what is the process, then. I want to connect via tethering to avoid needing a broadband card to an XP laptop. I have having all kinds of issues with installing the USB driver for the Motorola A855 on the laptop itself. What gives?
  15. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should have clarified. I wasn't referring to BT.
  16. oopslolz
    Offline

    oopslolz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use PDAnet with no problems. Plus when you run it, it will display the amount of data you've used with it so you can keep an eye on it make sure you're not pissing big red off.

    Sounds like you need windows 7 :icon_ banana:
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  17. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice avatar. Love that site.
  18. acedzero
    Offline

    acedzero Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There is also an app called 3g watchdog which will monitor your bandwidth. Tell it what the limit is and when your billing cycle starts and stops, and voila! :)
  19. anewday
    Offline

    anewday New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I know, was referring to the person below

    The only difference is that the free version doesn't support https.
Search tags for this page
free pdanet time limit
,
idle pdanet
,
pda net usage limit
,

pdanet bandwidth limit

,
pdanet data limit
,
pdanet free usage limit
,

pdanet idle

,

pdanet limit

,
pdanet limits
,

pdanet usage limit

,
usage limit pda net
,
what is usage limit on pdanet