So how's the soak test??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by maxwellag, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    on the d2 gb you can change the home dock icons just long press them\

    well are you talking actual icon. or shortcuts at the bottom of the screen?
     
  2. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    The shortcuts, if I long press then I just get a menu to add to the dock there is no option to change what's already there

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  3. americanz
    Offline

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol i ment the menu sorry
     
  4. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol turns out when you "add" to the dock it replaces whatever one of the four icons with what you select

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  5. broman77
    Offline

    broman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    do u have to sbf to get the update
    if u had z4 root
    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  6. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, just unroot but the actual ota hasn't started yet, right now its just the soak test

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  7. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Usea
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you only had z4root, just unroot and you should be fine. You can sbf over what you're running for blur too if you want to be safe, just make sure to only wipe cache and update your roaming (*228). Otherwise, repush is in half an hour. Time for last second checks.
     
  8. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like I said, research first, post later.

    You can grab the soak test's OTA from your phone and save it wherever you want.

    Soak test also doesn't mean they “push” the update to your phone once. Your phone's MEID is added to the whitelist of the phones to receive the update. That's all. Any time the phone checks for updates, it will be there.
     
  9. hradek422
    Offline

    hradek422 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I meant replace the icons with custom ones. With ADW, I can create custom shortcuts and move them to the dock using whatever icon I choose for that program. Also, dock really needs to be either 3 or 5 slots, and the app drawer needs to be in the middle, not the far right. That's the most awkward placement I've ever seen for it. Also don't like the fact that the trash can is at the top of the screen with no way to change it. All negative things I've noticed are UI related. On the plus side of things, the updated notification bar looks much more sleek than before, and I've been actively using my phone since my first post at 8:30 AM today, and have not had to plug it into the charger once. I don't know if this is related to the update, but I had to charge my phone at least once during the day before the update. There seems to be absolutely no delay in anything I do since the update. All programs, transitions, animations.... they all move smoothly. My GPS works, camera works, haven't dropped 3G once (it usually drops off once by this time of day). Overall, I love it. I'm just running it stock because I really don't want to root another phone unless the phone has an unlocked bootloader.