So how's the soak test??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by maxwellag, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. maxwellag
    Offline

    maxwellag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't get picked for the soak test, and wanted to know how it is going for those of you who did get picked... are there any bugs that you notice? I know that almost all you who are downloading it aren't done yet...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  2. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Still downloading....only at 39% after an hour while connected wifi

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. maxwellag
    Offline

    maxwellag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh. Well that's understandable, as the file it has to download is huge... when its done please reply to this. Thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  4. jojoferari
    Offline

    jojoferari New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Downloaded and remarkably the same... but not rooted. Lol

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  5. maxwellag
    Offline

    maxwellag New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really can't wait for gingerbread. The thing im looking forward to most about it is the sleep mode. I hate waiting for it to turn on when I need to use it at school.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
  6. warped1987
    Offline

    warped1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Absolutely loving it.

    Only thing I want to know now is rooting. Can Z4 work on it or are we going to have to root another way? That D3 method I keep hearing about but know nothing about.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  7. The Robot Cow
    Offline

    The Robot Cow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    If I'm correct z4 is for froyo(2.2) only.
    I can't wait for a stable cm7 rom with the gb files.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  8. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Let me rephrase:

    You've just asked, “Can z4root which was made ONLY for Android 2.2 FroYo and ONLY works on certain Android 2.2 builds, work on Android 2.3 Gingerbread?”

    D3 method works.
  9. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Overall the update is nice, wish I could change the menu colors back to black but oh well...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  10. hradek422
    Offline

    hradek422 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm loving it. Just noticed my update request about an hour ago. It changed the white M at startup to red. That threw me off. I haven't noticed any bugs with it. I agree with Ryujin13 on the whole changing menu color back to black, but it's not a big deal. The notification bar looks WAY more sleek. I hate the dock bar though. I wish you could change the icons without having a home replacement screen. I'll post if I find any bugs.
  11. JoeHockey
    Offline

    JoeHockey Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So will I see an update on my d2g which has the "leaked" GB on it or is this update the same version?
  12. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    only way as of right now to root gb

    [ROOT] Droid 3 root instructions (One Click added for Windows/ Linux/ OSX)se this file

    MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4.zip
    e
    asy a cake takes about 5 min

    only problem with rooting is as of right now no way back. no sbf, no unroot.​
  13. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Excuse me, what?
  14. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As of right now there is no sbf to ota gb. you can sbf back to froyo and hope you can get the ota soak again. but i dont think you can. you will have to wait until the official ota gb is out.
  15. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Have to agree about the dock, we should be able to change the icons there if we want

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  16. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on the d2 gb you can change the home dock icons just long press them\

    well are you talking actual icon. or shortcuts at the bottom of the screen?
  17. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    The shortcuts, if I long press then I just get a menu to add to the dock there is no option to change what's already there

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  18. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol i ment the menu sorry
  19. Ryujin13
    Offline

    Ryujin13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Lol turns out when you "add" to the dock it replaces whatever one of the four icons with what you select

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  20. broman77
    Offline

    broman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do u have to sbf to get the update
    if u had z4 root
    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums