so... 550mhz?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Sam, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    as i understand it, the processor in the motorola droid (sholes/tao/whatever, that one) is capable of 600mhz and is actually underclocked (no doubt to improve battery life a bit, given the 6hr+ claimed continued use time) to 550mhz.. what do you guys thing the odds are of there being some way to "overclock" the processor back to the 600mhz mark, or beyond? additionally, do you think it would make any noticeable difference?
     
  2. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    From what I gather it should be fairly easy to overclock it. The only problem you will run into is finding a mhz that won't overheat the phone. As you may or may not recall apple had a problem with one of the iphones and the overheating. It didn't take very long for them to fix it though.

    The only problem is that a lot of people don't seem to understand the structuring of a mobile phone and it's cpu and gpu. It's not merely a 550mhz it's a cortex a8. Which is like a Pentium 2 vs a Pentium.
     
  3. JohnDroid

    JohnDroid Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting, I did not know the difference between the a8 version. So it's a complete generation beyond what most phones are using?
     
  4. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    Yes, most phones out are not using the A8 yet, or the complete architecture that it resides from / in. The iphone 3GS (3GS only) is using the same chip type just running it at a 50mhz faster, and then the N900 which is the snapdragon based on the same architecture if i remember correctly, just different chipset they are creating. But also stated in my one of my other posts about it (iphone) and the snapdragon, they both are SoC, or system on a chip. Which does both cpu + gpu from the same chip. Where the Moto droid is not designed that way.
     
  5. JohnDroid

    JohnDroid Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the Motorola Droid have a dedicated GPU?
     
  6. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    from everything i can tell.. not 100% sure but i believe it also has a "PowerVR SGX 530 GPU" included in the phone also that handles the graphics. Which if true in my eyes would make it FAR superior to the iphone.
     
  7. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    GPU meaning like a dedicated graphics card on a desktop?
     
  8. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    GPU just basically means the graphical processing unit. It doesn't have to be on a desktop, it can be in anything that handles graphics. Usually having a dedicated graphics card will get you a lot more out of your graphics and it would take less of a toll on the CPU that does all the other calculations and I/O requests.
     
  9. JohnDroid

    JohnDroid Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Very interesting. A dedicated GPU would more then make up for the mhz difference.
     
  10. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    so i interpret what you guys are saying to mean that the motorola with the 550mhz processor will actually perform better than the snapdragon processor-equipped htc, because of a dedicated gpu? that's hot.
     
  11. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,721
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +82
    i will never say it will be better, because without the snapdragon out they are mere assumptions. no one knows how the snapdragon will compare to others until it comes out. but do not take Mhz as reason that one is better then another. because just like AMD and INTEL they perform way differently.
     
  12. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    that's a good point. we need to start some off-topic threads so we can talk computers
     
Search tags for this page

content