smupdater and bad block looping

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hayaku, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi, has anyone seen this issue? i've tried searching and couldn't find anything that helped...

    ran smupdater-7.apk on a friend's droid and it is able to download the recovery image and goes through the menus of 'are you sure' and then displays an error of "mtd: not writting bad block at 0x003000000"

    sprecovery is flashed and the phone has root, but cannot get beyond that error to install the sholesmod 2.03 rom. are there instructions on how to install the .tgz rom manually? or is there a fix to the bad block looping error?

    thanks
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Will it attempt to install the 2.0.2 version??
  3. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same error for all 3 options, including return to stock...
  4. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Did you try uninstalling and reinstalling it again?

    Remember to check the "remember" box before you click to "allow" root permissions when you first open the app
  5. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, multiple times.. wipe cache and data as well... it doesn't seem to be an su error, as those have different error messages
  6. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I don't know then man.....may just be one of those "weird" instances where someones Droid can't do something everyone elses can do
  7. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for trying.. does anyone know the correct way to manually install the sholesmod rom?
  8. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    If you're going to manually update the ROM you can follow my guide in my signature to install Bugless Beast. Same basic theme except they have the new Taz kernal which Sholes doesn't.
  9. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  10. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think i found the instructions on how to install sholesmod manually...

    root first
    install flash_image
    flash the recovery image into the recovery partition
    reboot into recovery install the tgz rom
    reboot

    Android 2.0.1 Sholes.info Edition 1.0-RC1! | Sholes
  11. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I have no idea if that would work. I wasn't suggesting that you use the Sholes. If you can't get the SM Updater to work I don't really know what the advantage of Sholes is, so I was just telling you to follow the guide to install Bugless Beast instead.
  12. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Matth3w, Figured out the error and how to get past this.

    Error was a bad block in the recovery partition. However, Luckily SPRecovery was already flashed in. SMUpdater did not know (or check) so it just tried to redownload the recovery image and reinstall it. Perhaps a new version of this could check whether or not SPRecovery is installed or not (touch a file somewhere and check for its existence like the bash shell you guys are using?)

    So, the manual way to do this is built into SMUpdate is already built into it. Select install rom from sd card and away you go... Sholes Team rocks! very well thought out installer... highly impressed.
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to flash the SPRecovery image over an existing SPRecovery image till the cows come home without an error. It sounds like the SMUpdater app is just full of bugs - I've been reading an awful lot of posts about people stuck in reboot loops, unable to install, unable to boot, with weird errors, etc. Things were much better when you had to manually install ROMs.
  14. hayaku
    Offline

    hayaku New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    had nothing to do with smupdater in this case. we were able to restore back to stock and root the manual way. when we manually ran flash_image recovery we would get the bad lock error. we were lucky that it eventually took the sprecovery image. this would've happened with any custom rom method we tried (manual or automated). smupdater just happens to automate all of these steps for us and didn't output where the error came from.