1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SMS Errors - number format very sensitive and buggy

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Markc1024, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Markc1024
    Offline

    Markc1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm new to the Droid X and Android. I've noticed intermitent behavior with texting. My contacts download via Touchdown from corporate server. They were initially formated with country code and area code in parentheses as Outlook is how I enter them (this is an Outlook standard). Those messages would not send and generate error "Cause code: Addr.Vcnt., 0"
    old format: +1(555)555-5555

    Well, I removed all of the parenthesis and country codes from the number format, and now get some messages through, but some of the replies will start sticking the country code back on the address and then those error out with the same message
    example: 555-555-5555 works, but without my intervention subsequent replies to the same thread will have +1-555-555-5555 and then error out with the same error code.

    This seems like a huge bug in properly parsing phone numbers from standard formats, not to mention adding the country code mid way through the message thread.

    Also, I just moved from a Blackberry and never experienced this type of a problem with SMS.

    Any suggestions?

    Mark
  2. Markc1024
    Offline

    Markc1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed Handcent and so far the problem hasn't surfaced using this App. Hopefully something the development team has sorted out in Android 2.2.

    Mark
  3. dnar56
    Offline

    dnar56 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im getting the same message but only for 1 contact that i text, but mms goes through just fine both with and without handcent. also my contacts were just uploaded through my gmail acct not outlook. and titanium backup isnt working right now so i dont wanna do a wipe. anybody have any idea whats going on?
  4. famine
    Offline

    famine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    missouri
    i had the same problem.. i had to reformat all of my contacts correctly.. then do a master reset before it would fix it... even with fixing the contacts.. before the master reset it would still put the + in... so yeah. sucked.
  5. toolboy7
    Offline

    toolboy7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone found a fix to this other than a master reset?
  6. toolboy7
    Offline

    toolboy7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My problem was the Facebook account that was linked up to my contact in the phone. Everytime I sent a text, it sent to the number that Facebook had, which had a +1-xxx in front of the number. All I did to fix it is to unlink the contacts, then go into the Facebook contact and add the number with just the area code. When I send a text now, it sends to the number without the +1. Problem solved. I did a master reset before I did this and it had no effect.
  7. starider7
    Offline

    starider7 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had my Droid for several months, and have sent and received thousands of texts, then yesterday for some reason this exact problem popped up. I found this thread, and removed the +1 and voila, it works again. Weird how it worked before though. Thanks!
  8. ritalauren
    Offline

    ritalauren New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you remove the +1 ? My Droid won't let me edit the facebook contacts.
Search tags for this page
addr trns
,
addr vcnt
,
addr vcnt.com droid 4
,
addr.trns
,

addr.vcnt

,
addr.vcnt error
,

addr.vcnt. 0

,
addr.vcnt. o
,

cause code addr.vcnt. 0

,
error code addr. trans
,
error code addr.trns
,
error code addr.vcnt
,
error code addr.vcnt.
,
verizon cause code addr vcnt 0
,
what does addr.vcnt. 0 mean