SMS Area Code Problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by neal121, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. neal121
    Offline

    neal121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my Verizon Motorola droid today and have had no problems until i tried sending a text to one of my friends and it says

    "###-#### Unable to deliver. Please re-send with area code"

    Now in the Contacts, the area code is there. I have shut the phone off, took out the battery for 15 seconds, and out of ideas.

    All my other contacts work fine and I can text and they can respond but not this one, and he is also a verizon phone.

    *Clueless!*

    Any help would be great
     
  2. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try making sure the phone number is in the mobile spot and re enter it.
     
  3. neal121
    Offline

    neal121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes , I have also deleted and re-added the contact.
     
  4. neal121
    Offline

    neal121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I apologize for double posting but I just did an experiment...

    I deleted the contact. Then I composed a SMS with the number and sent a message, the droid didn't send it to the area code even tho I put the area code in myself.

    I tried this both the 1 and without the 1 infront. I have no clue whats going on. I put the area code in, hit send, and it vanishes!
     
  5. Lafond
    Offline

    Lafond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue with one of my contacts as well. Tried adding the number seperately with the area code and it still didn't work.
     
  6. Rolngthun
    Offline

    Rolngthun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you clear all text threads and phone logs it will start using the number you entered with the area code.
     
  7. Lafond
    Offline

    Lafond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that, and also deleted my contact list and re-synced with facebook. Her number in my contact list has the area code listed like everyone else that I sent texts too. Only difference is she has T-Mobile.
     
Search tags for this page
android send sms with country code
,

android sms country code

,
android sms number with country code
,
double sms thread country code
,
iphone 4 country code problem sms
,
iphone add country code on sms message
,
iphone sms country code problem
,
my text messages have country code android
,
need area code for sms
,
text problems android area code