smoked glass 6 and OTA...

Discussion in 'Adamz' started by jbg25, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. jbg25

    jbg25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey guys....

    Adam has posted that he did not build the ability to block the OTA into 6.0. So he has posted an update.zip on alldroid that will stop the OTA that is rolling out tomorrow. If you do not use the zip...or manually disable OTAs...you could be forced to update, with no way to back out.

    You can use this zip no matter what ROM you are on.

    [Release] Block OTA Updates (Any ROM)
     
  2. ViciousCircle

    ViciousCircle Android Addict
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also note that if you have SP recovery 99.2b or higher (which I'm guessing you do if you are using SG), it should block the update as well since you have to tell it to allow update.zip.
     
  3. Kmart95

    Kmart95 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    If we have EVER pressed allow update.zip on SPrecovery does that mean that OTA updates aren't blocked. Or is it only if we press it when the OTA update is out?
     
  4. toddegreene

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reminder. I like to have the added sense of security. Since the last OTA scare I haven't bothered renaming otacerts.zip.
     
  5. hooblah2u2

    hooblah2u2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So let me just get this straight: since I have the latest SPRecovery, I won't need to install the zip file attached to the OP?

    Thanks!
     
  6. kaboyd

    kaboyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I read. Sprecovery will block an automatic update, but still allow you to update manually when your phone gets notified. I ran this rom because I don't even want to be notified of an update. Thanks to the OP for this find...
     
  7. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is no need to run this if you are running sprecovery..... Adam posted the same on the thread linked above.
     
  8. spacemanps

    spacemanps Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do i go about doing this with clock work?